Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Stitching with the A7R...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,069
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    83

    Stitching with the A7R...

    A7R, 55FE, Hand held in Portrait orientation, 5 frames pano stitched.



    IQ180, SK60XL, tripod, LCC, CF etc. etc. 4 frames flat-stitched in Portrait orientation, shifted about 30mm left and 30mm right.

    Likes 4 Member(s) liked this post

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Stitching with the A7R...

    Interesting....
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Bill Caulfeild-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bruce Peninsula, Canada
    Posts
    2,535
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    184

    Re: Stitching with the A7R...

    One can't tell much from a 72dpi Jpg - what do you see from the full files?
    Bill

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,069
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    83

    Re: Stitching with the A7R...

    Bill, agree completely. I was going to post some crops but did not want to get a heated debate started without both cameras on a tripod, but will do that as soon as I get some time and it is not -20C.

    So far, the 55FE is pretty close to the 60XL in resolution, but we have to keep in mind that the 55FE is being pano stitched while the 60XL is using almost all of its 120mm IC.

    There are subtle details in the snow that are more visible on the A7R that are not as obvious on the IQ180. I noticed something similar when I was looking at some A7R vs. D800E images I had taken as well. I always considered the IQ180 and D800E pretty close in DR, and it could as well be that the A7R is a little better.

    Biggest difference of course is in the handling. The IQ/Tech setup took me about 20 mins. The A7R was an afterthought as I was leaving out the car window, hand held This is not accounting for one-shot cable firing issues, hanging on to an LCC card when you cannot feel your fingers, framing, focussing, post-processing, all of which require a much higher degree of involvement. But, all of this could also be a plus as it is often for me in terms of the process of getting to the final output.

    In all fairness, this particular scene probably evens the field a little for the sony. Will do a few other shots shortly that could favour the bitingly sharp tech lenses and CCD sense combo.

    I have no doubt that if I had my IQ/Tech kit with me, and had the time, I will shoot it 10/10 times over anything else when it comes to landscapes. However, I just wanted to try this to see how much I would loose out if/when I bother lugging it along and just had the little Sony. So far, I think I will be happy to trade the difference for the convenience when the primary purpose of the trip is not photography.
    Likes 6 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    495
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Stitching with the A7R...

    Any tips for handheld shooting for stitching?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,069
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    83

    Re: Stitching with the A7R...

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_vs_ryu View Post
    Any tips for handheld shooting for stitching?
    1. Manual exposure (I prefer SS at 1/125 and play with aperture and ISO based on my DoF requirements vs. lens/ISO performance). Manual WB
    2. Manual focus, if Auto, move AF to something other than Shutter Release
    3. Once I know how I want to frame the shot, I don't take my eye off the VF. I just frame, shoot, move the camera for next frame, shoot and so on. This way, I have a pretty good idea of coverage and I am not off vertical/horizontal alignment by too much. The electronic level in the EVF of the Sony is very useful for this.


    .....or you can use the Panorama feature in the Sony, but it only does JPG

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •