Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Bad exposure info on A7

  1. #1
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Bad exposure info on A7

    Hi guys,

    When I shoot I usually don't use the exposure meter, I look at the image through the viewfinder or the lcd and shoot when I see the image exposed as I like it. I never had any problems with that with my prior NEX cameras (NEX5, NEX5N, NEX7) but with the A7 I expose the image like I like but many times it comes out darker after I shoot (I have "Live view display" with "setting effect on").

    Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    724
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    Is brightness of your viewfinder/LCD accurate?

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,186
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    Is the exposure compensation dial on "0?" I had this issue happen to me where everything was overexposed then I checked the "culprit" after the fact. Admittedly though I don't review much or chimp so I didn't notice until import. I also noticed the dial is more apt toswitch on my A7 than my A7r... I don't know if it has to do with magnesium dials v. hard plastic or just a slightly lesser build quality. The fact remains the A7 dials turn easier for me between both cameras.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    I get this too actually. Randomly too. I have the EVF set to auto.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    I've just realized something that is good, but not ideal. The actual image that is shot is exposed exactly like I exposed it when shooting, but during the 2 seconds preview after I've taken the photo it shows up darker, which leads you to believe that that is how the image was actually exposed. BUT if you preview the image via the play button or on the computer the images are properly exposed like I intended. This leads me to believe that the 2 second auto preview is worthless as I will have to play each image after I shot it or trust it's exposed like I wanted it too. Nonetheless I really would like the 2 second preview to work properly.

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,186
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    Makes some sense... Probably still processing the image depending on SD card speed. I have review set to off on both cameras.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    Hmmm, I'm getting it and I have review off. Not always just sometimes.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    I have a feeling that in low light, the auto mode of the viewfinder is boosting the brightness a drop too much compared to the actual image. Thoughts?
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    Might want to manually set the brightness of your LCD screen. Mine is set to brighter but I have the histo tool on my screen both in finder and LCD. I go by the histo not what I see.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Bad exposure info on A7

    That's the thing, The LCD and the VF are displaying the image properly, the problem I have is with the image that is displayed in the 2 second auto-review that takes place directly after the photo is taken. If I check the photo again via play button it's exposed properly. I've have the NEX5, NEX5N and the NEX7 and this is the first time I see this happening. It's a bummer because I do like to have a quick review of the image before I move on.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •