The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Sony A7/A7r with old lenses

jotloob

Subscriber Member
Hello

I am new to SONY A7 cameras and fascinated by using old lenses on that camera .
I have a question here . Can I use a collapsible LEICA 50mm (Elmarit , Summarit or Summicron etc.) with an M39 adapter on a SONY A7 camera ? Does the collapsed lens collide with the sensor ?
Looking very much forward for your answers and thank you in advance .

Jürgen

pegelli

Hello

I am new to SONY A7 cameras and fascinated by using old lenses on that camera .
I have a question here . Can I use a collapsible LEICA 50mm (Elmarit , Summarit or Summicron etc.) with an M39 adapter on a SONY A7 camera ? Does the collapsed lens collide with the sensor ?
Looking very much forward for your answers and thank you in advance .

Jürgen
My collapsible Elmar 50/3.5 can't be fully collapsed. Theoretically the distance of the lens to the shutter/sensor doesn't change, but the shutter assembly as well as some other internals are in the way. On a NEX/A6000 you'll hit a baffle without too much damage, but on an A7 series you might touch the actual shutter and do real damage.

Last edited:

jotloob

Subscriber Member
That sounds very logical . Yes .
Thank you very much . Your answer helps a lot .
I will get a collapsible KONICA HEXANON 2,4/50mm .
Not really very old but very nice .

Jürgen .

V

Vivek

Does the collapsed lens collide with the sensor ?

Jürgen
Yes, it does!

Pieter's logic does not apply as the shutter is much closer to the rear of the collapsed lenses in a Sony camera than in a Leica one.