The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Sony's (lack of?) lens quality control

iiiNelson

Actually the thread should be renamed to Why the camera industry lack of quality control. No OEM is immune to this unfortunately. I have owned just about every system out there and it has become a buy 3 return 2 industry. Hate to say it but the only system I have seen better quality is in tech cam lenses and even there problems exist. I honestly can't say I had a system that was free from a mechanically, optically or electronically issue of some sort. I worked in the Aerospace business for many years in the avionics arena and there everything was so much better but it had to be. Here no one dies over it.
Agreed on some level. Even Leica has had quite a few problems with the 50 APO-Summicron and it costs about $7500.

ZoranC

Actually the thread should be renamed to Why the camera industry lack of quality control. No OEM is immune to this unfortunately.
That very well may be the case. My post was not meant to single out Sony, I was discussing Sony lenses just because that is what I am currently dealing with. My experience with Nikon lenses hasn't been flawless but I haven't had anywhere near this much issues. Could it be that I would have same kind of experience with Nikon's if I was not using 12MP body with them but 36MP one? Possibly but I can't speculate on that. All I am trying to do is find out is my experience with this particular setup common or unusual.

I have owned just about every system out there and it has become a buy 3 return 2 industry.