Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 50 of 64

Thread: New firmware is here

  1. #1
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    New firmware is here

    ILCE-7R Firmware Upgrade Ver. 1.02 (Microsoft Windows) : Download : Sony Australia

    (mac version)

    Am installing it now. Watch out before you do so to make a note of all your custom settings and button configurations because the instructions require a reset, I will report back on whether the installer is smart enough to create a settings backup and re-install them. I will also report back on any differences I notice after the update...
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  2. #2
    Senior Member Barry Haines's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cornwall
    Posts
    1,815
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Many thanks Tim...Will look forward to your findings.

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,001
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Good show, Tim - I'll be awaiting your findings with bated breath



    Kind regards.
    Bart ...

  4. #4
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    OK, I installed it. It's a bore to install because you need the USB cable (mine never gets used but I found it!) and it all has to be done from a computer.

    All my custom button setting survived but my Memory Recall positions 1 and 2 seem to have been re-set: I had one for tripod with A mode ISO 100, delayed release and OSS OFF and another for handheld with M mode, ISO Auto and OSS on and no delay. All gone. So keep a note of your settings.

    Startup time 'from recently turned off' is supposed to be faster but I compared two A7R's (albeit two different Prime FE lenses) and they seem the same. However startup from cold (simulated by removing the battery) is a LOT faster with the new FW, by, literally, five or six seconds. I double checked this by switching the memory cards in each camera just in case it related to the building of the card database and it made no difference. This is a HUGE benefit.

    IQ: this is where I got cunning: it could take forever to PROVE that there's a difference but I took a card with a day's shooting and then after the update I shot some simple and some complex scenes. Yesterday's file sizes are all 36.9 or 37mb though there is one outlier at 37.5. Post FW, the file sizes are all different and vary from 36.7 thru 37.7 so maybe, just maybe, there's less compression going on, varying according to subject matter.

    As for the differences to Play Memories. Well, I will leave that to more experienced photographers to discern...
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Senior Member Slingers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    457
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Thank you for letting us know your findings. Do you believe there is any change in AF speed or accuracy?

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Tbc.

  7. #7
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    Tim even if they changed the compression method the files could possibly be the same. It actually sounds like they did being just a wee bit bigger. Have to wait for the nerds to tear it apart. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    I'll load in the morning even the start up time is a huge help to me. Check self timer modes see if there is a change.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,001
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Thank you, Tim - apparently it's not yet the killer update we've all been waiting for eliminating/reducing the shutter impact.

    Kind regards.
    Bart ...

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: New firmware is here

    Thanks Tim. It's the restart time which was my biggest problem with start up. Seems they haven't fixed it. Sigh. Nothing for shutter lag, nothing for bounce, no 'my menu', sigh...
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Timers haven't changed..... shutter action hasn't changed.

    Victor

  12. #12
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Installed the FW on the A7 and on the A7r. First one (A7) failed once and I had to restart from scratch, eventually everything is ok.
    I have the clear impression that the start-up is considerably faster at least on the A7r.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    My A7 took forever to start and now it feels really faster. AF on the 28-70mm also feels very fast.
    I cannot confirm on the improvement on IQ though, nor the apps thingy.

  14. #14
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    Reading around. Reports of faster AF with the Sony 4 adapter, faster magnification times. So look for speed improvements. I have not updated yet but before one installs maybe shoot a plain white wall notice the file size than update and repeat and see if file is different. I may try this later today
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  15. #15
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    Just read this also. Better higher ISO

    sonyalpharumors
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  16. #16
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,930
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Great, sounds good. I'll install it this eve when I don't have to rush. No time to take any pictures today anyway...

    G

  17. #17
    Senior Member MikeEvangelist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Done. Start-up time definitely faster - after switching the camera on, the info overlay in the display appears almost immediately, where it used to take a few seconds.

    Haven't noticed anything else.

  18. #18
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: New firmware is here

    Where is the Mac firmware update?

    - Marc

  19. #19
    Senior Member MikeEvangelist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Quote Originally Posted by fotografz View Post
    Where is the Mac firmware update?
    ILCE-7R Firmware Upgrade Ver. 1.02 (Apple Macintosh) : Download : Sony Australia

  20. #20
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: New firmware is here

    Thanks.

    - Marc

  21. #21
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: New firmware is here

    Just downloading now, man but that's a huge download for a firmware update!
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  22. #22
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    No question magnifier is faster, start up faster. Sony Adapter 4 seems faster both in AFS and AFC.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  23. #23
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Also available on the US site

    Downloaded and installed w/o problems. Def faster start-up, otherwise haven't noted other improvements yet.
    Carl
    Gallery

  24. #24
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    Okay moving on to the A7 now.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  25. #25
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: New firmware is here

    Got it, no problems with install. Start up time is one second, restart time is now just a bit over that. Noticeably faster and a fraction of the time on restart. Yay! My saved modes (1/2) were not reset. Scrolling a drop faster, doesn't pause or hesitate any more. Zoom same speed but scrolling around the image, again less hesitating. Writing after shot just the same speed till I can press the review button. Lag same No idea about IQ, hasn't seen a problem as yet.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  26. #26
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    Both cams updated now , no issues. Have to see, but the Sony adapter 4 seems faster with both my 85 and 135 than again I would like it to anyway. LOL

    In general i think we may some things a little faster. I give it a 7 out of 10 scorecard. It could use more updates
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  27. #27
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    I agree Guy. I can't be bothered to do a detailed IQ comparison because a bullet proof methodology is actually very tough (too many variables to easily control) and because I was happy why it as-is and I wonder whether it's more a JPEG improvement despite the differing file saes of RAWS. I don't notice any particular improvements other than startup, which is dramatically better, but I do think that they missed a trick in not improving the parameters available to Auto ISO users to include shutter speed to focal focal length relationships.

  28. #28
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: New firmware is here

    For all the start up improvements it's still ridiculously slow by DSLR standards. Hooray, the A7r has almost caught up to 2004 DSLR's! Reminds me in use of my original Canon 1Ds (battery life too ) but I forgive it everything for being a tiny fraction of the weight and size and with IQ I couldn't have begun to dream of in those days. I'll say this, the 1Ds was never in any was whatsoever fun to use or shoot with. The A7r is all fun all the time.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  29. #29
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    Yea left part of the boat at the dock when this sailed. Maybe better said they forgot the food and booze. My bet is jpegs at higher ISO is better but who really cares about that on this forum. NO ONE
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  30. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    I see no difference at iso 1600 with images I have taken before and after. So for me this update does very little. Would have been a tremendous improvement for lower shutter speeds to have closed the shutter when time delay is used..... that's for the next camera. Like Ben, I also forgive many faults for the ability to use this little package and get marvelous results 95% of the time.

    Victor

  31. #31
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: New firmware is here

    I assume the next camera will have EFC even on the 'r' version. By which time I might have learnt to anticipate the lag somewhat . I've been wondering what the next version would need to make me want to upgrade (apart from existing, I get GAS as bad as the rest of you, I just can't afford to have it ). Honest, I've McGyver'd solutions to my biggest gripes and with this new firmware, I think EFC is the only thing left that's a real problem in day to day shooting. Not sure it would be enough to make me upgrade though any more. One thing that is annoying me in day to day shooting is the lack of cheap cable releases, was using the IR release in pitch black for bulb mode shooting yesterday (the fantasy shot I've posted) and it was so unreliable.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  32. #32
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    Hate to say it guys but I agree. Nice for the start up time but Im getting great stuff from it so I really don't care, i will no doubt buy the updated body next.

    Sony does not need to read this though. Im just too tired to go bust there butts over this stuff.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  33. #33
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New firmware is here

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Rubinstein View Post
    I assume the next camera will have EFC even on the 'r' version. By which time I might have learnt to anticipate the lag somewhat . I've been wondering what the next version would need to make me want to upgrade (apart from existing, I get GAS as bad as the rest of you, I just can't afford to have it ). Honest, I've McGyver'd solutions to my biggest gripes and with this new firmware, I think EFC is the only thing left that's a real problem in day to day shooting. Not sure it would be enough to make me upgrade though any more. One thing that is annoying me in day to day shooting is the lack of cheap cable releases, was using the IR release in pitch black for bulb mode shooting yesterday (the fantasy shot I've posted) and it was so unreliable.
    I bought the 64 dollar one but I agree 12 bucks would have made me happier.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  34. #34
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: New firmware is here

    I'm looking forward to a radio wireless one like I used to have for my canon, cost me $25 off ebay. Was heaven for tripod work.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  35. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    724
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: New firmware is here

    At least one user on DPR reported that firmware update bricked his camera. I happen to know indirectly that person so I know it's not a troll or somebody inexperienced.

  36. #36
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Shameful, they left the manually adapted glass user out in the cold still... I'm appreciative of the startup speed, but... We still NEED this.

    Focus Magnifier / Zoom in one button press like NEX. NOT 2 clicks = extraneous.

    Further expanding on this would be an additional menu option that would have the option to change the behavior of the one click, where one click can equal any of these 3 user pref. Maximum magnification first, Minimum magnification first or the current style framing mode.

  37. #37
    Senior Member ecsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Tax State
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Update is done, but the screen does not come back on, for me to hit the finish button on the screen. Anyone else?

  38. #38
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Right. I've done ONE test of two A7rs with same lens, light, aperture, shutter speed, ISO 3200, different FW.

    Tiff crops of the results are below. But first, try not to look at EXIF and just guess which is which? I hasten to add that this proves nothing but indicates something... you might like to know that these were RAWs, exposed under tungsten light with + 2/3rds exposure and then pushed two stops in LR and with 60/0.7/70/20 as sharpening and LR defaults for Colour NR of 25/50/50 and no luminance NR. So this was intended to 'bring out' the noise, but not to create it.



  39. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Tim.... your images are missing. But..... without even seeing if you can show me that 3200 is the same as 800 then you will get my attention. Otherwise 3200 is an emergency iso only..... for me...

    Victor

  40. #40
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: New firmware is here

    not showing?
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  41. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Not showing.....

  42. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Quote Originally Posted by ecsh View Post
    Update is done, but the screen does not come back on, for me to hit the finish button on the screen. Anyone else?
    I didn't hit the finish button on the screen.... That was done on my computer. The process was a little clumsy and I had to exit the program once and restart the update but the software knew I had gone through all of the previous steps and started the update.

    Victor

  43. #43
    Senior Member BSEH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    290
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  44. #44
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    OK, they are showing here but I posted in-line TIFF crops and some browsers may not show them so here are links to the TIFFS

    http://tashley1.zenfolio.com/img/s4/v12/p51829941.tif

    http://tashley1.zenfolio.com/img/s10...p491526004.tif

  45. #45
    Senior Member BSEH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    290
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    p51829941 look cleanest ??? right ??

  46. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Updated quite easily. Had hoped for a better auto-iso implementation

  47. #47
    Senior Member nostatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    socal
    Posts
    1,037
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    The first one (in the original post) seems to have more definition - transitions from shadow to book and the thin lighter shaft in the upper left.


  48. #48
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    The examples show subtle differences at best. I hope I don't have to use that ISO for anything serious..... at least in its current state.

    Victor

  49. #49
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    Not that I use jpegs but I believe I now see much better high iso files with a lot less aggressive noise reduction etc

  50. #50
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New firmware is here

    More opinions please? And don't forget:

    1) we're looking really for noise performance not definition because, thought the shots were both carefully manually focussed on the same spot, sublet focus differences might give the impression of more detail.

    2) this files was effectively pushed two stops: in other words it 'should' have been shot at ISO800, in which case it would have looked a whole lot better. This despite the fact that it had +2/3rds stop comp applied. The A7R meters extremely protectively of highlights, which is all well and good but it does mean that one can end up giving the sensor less light than one might with another camera.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •