Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Question for you a7/R flip screen users

  1. #1
    Senior Member JohnW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    640
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question for you a7/R flip screen users

    Yesterday I had my first street outing with the A7 and I request help with an issue. I tend to shoot street with the flip screen at chest or waist level. I like the discreteness and point of view.

    The issue is that when I bring the camera up to that level, and then rotate it to make it level, the LCD regularly shuts off. I sent my first A7 back for this issue, thinking it was an electrical problem. Now I believe it's the changing light level in the EVF turning the LCD off. I routinely shoot my Nex 7 this way and have never encountered this behavior. Yesterday it was a regular occurrence that caused many missed shots. There is no realistic way to reactive the LCD - other than randomly moving the camera. Do any of you shoot this way and experience this with your a7/R? If so, how do you handle it?

    I realize I can turn off the EVF, but I like having it available. Unfortunately, it seems the Finder/Monitor parameter cannot be assigned to a custom function or button. Switching using the menu is not realistic.

    I'm probably missing something obvious, but would appreciate any thoughts you have on the issue. Thanks.

    John
    Last edited by JohnW; 29th March 2014 at 07:40.

  2. #2
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Question for you a7/R users

    there is a sensor near the viewfind that shuts off the LCD and turns on the EVf when your eye (or finger!) gets near it. you can probably disable it in the menus somewhere

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    495
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question for you a7/R users

    The menu button remembers where it was left last. Keep it at the Finder/Monitor option and when you click it again it's there.

  4. #4
    Senior Member JohnW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    640
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question for you a7/R users

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_vs_ryu View Post
    The menu button remembers where it was left last. Keep it at the Finder/Monitor option and when you click it again it's there.
    Thanks, Ken. But it still takes four or five button actions, even with menu memory.

  5. #5
    Senior Member pegelli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,118
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question for you a7/R flip screen users

    If it's the same as my NEX6 (which also has this problem) just pull out the screen a little from the camera after flipping it horizontal. In my case that gets the picture back on the LCD.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •