Site Sponsors

Thread: Sony Service Experiences?

Super Duper

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Sony Service Experiences?

Okay, Sony are aggressively moving toward a higher end user base some of which rely on their cameras more than others.

I've been using Sony as my work horse system now for 6 years. Two A900s and now the A99 and A7R.

So far I've not needed any service, warranty or after warranty.

However, as Sony captures more and more users I wonder exactly how reliable their service is, who does it, and if they retain parts for older cameras such as the A900 and even APSc DSLR cameras prior to that ?

Any thoughts or experiences?

- Marc

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Sony Service Experiences?

I had accumulated a collection of dust and spots on my a7r sensor cover glass and decided to attempt a wet cleaning with sensor swabs. Apparently, as reported by Roger Cicala on another forum, the cover glass is extremely soft and despite my very careful attempt at dust-free cleaning, I ended up with light horizontal scratches. In addition, there were a few vertical scratches which occurred through some other mechanism as I only cleaned the sensor in the one direction. I went through the service order process online, shipped my body off to sony, and had it back within a week with a new spotless coverglass -- all for free (except outbound shipping). I even received an email from the technician with f/32 photos of the sensor before and after the work. I would give them top marks for service speed and quality of communication.
    Likes 3 Member(s) liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

I second that. I was expecting a car smash but they were very quick, no quibbles and got it right first time. IMHO better than Nikon by a country mile.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

The first a7R that I bought developed a rear LCD separation/defect: