Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 35 of 35

Thread: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,994
    Post Thanks / Like

    Arrow A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    What it does:
    Improves the power-on time after downloading the Smart Remote Control application of the PlayMemories Camera Apps™.
    File Description UPDATE ILCE-7/7R/7S Camera Firmware Update Release Date 10/30/2014 Version 1.10
    Check your local Sony site for the new firmware and instructions.

    Kind regards.
    Bart ...

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    I saw that announced the other day . have not done it yet
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Whoever does, please report any findings
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,994
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Well Guy, I'd like to have reported my findings.
    However, I'm still suffering from a little inconvenience ...

    All the best.
    Bart ...

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,298
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Sony eSupport - ILCE-7R - Drivers & Software quote:

    "A computer with:
    CPU: Intel® processor
    Available Hard Disk Space: 200 MB or more
    Installed Memory (RAM): 512 MB or more
    A USB port.
    Mac OS® X version 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, or 10.9."

    Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10 isn't on the approved list.
    With best regards, K-H.

  6. #6
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Guess I'm out too . Just loaded Yosemite yesterday
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    The A7r has a significantly shorter start-up time (even without Play Memories!), only the first start-up with a fresh battery is still slow (not a big issue).

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    I did update, and didn't test it it all, the only thing as many said, faster start-up or turning on.
    Tareq

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,298
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    I updated my A7R under Mac OS X Mavericks. No problems so far!
    With best regards, K-H.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Have updated my A7 but don't want to do the A7s if I lose the updated versions of 'camera remote' that was already installed in the camera when I bought it especially as the updated version has now been removed from the playmemories website. So does anyone know if the firmware update actually effects the app

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,928
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Had to boot over to my Mavericks backup, but the update is loading now.
    Sheesh, Sony updates are as annoying as Olympus updates...

    Add:
    Update succeeded, camera isn't a brick. Yes, it starts up faster. Woo hoo!

    G
    Godfrey - GDGPhoto Flickr Stream
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  12. #12
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Its kind of stupid these are set up like this. They should do like most and use the SD cards for updates. I'm kind of hosed as I erased my mavericks backup yesterday as I'm pretty happy with Yosemite. Pissing me off here.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  13. #13
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Guess I could download mavericks to a external drive and boot from that. I'm tempted to try it on Yosemite first.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,928
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Guess I could download mavericks to a external drive and boot from that. I'm tempted to try it on Yosemite first.
    I tried various techniques to make it work on Yosemite. All failed on my system. The firmware updater saw the camera and then errored out before starting the installation. :-|

    It's a PITA when manufacturers make the update process even more fragile by requiring you to use their software running on another system to do the job, rather than running the software entirely within that which they can test directly, the camera. It means they have to update not only the camera firmware but the firmware updater for all the platforms that users run..

    I got lucky: I've been too busy on my system to run the clone update on my secondary backup boot drive, so Mavericks is still available. I might keep it around a while longer now.

    G

  15. #15
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Thanks for the update. I'll use my wife's MBA. Forgot I had it available
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  16. #16
    Senior Member Barry Haines's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cornwall
    Posts
    1,813
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Win/A7R update version file sizes are pretty close to one another.
    For 0.1 Mb it hardly seems worth bothering with

    Update_ILCE7RV102
    File size 181 MB (190,103,640 bytes)

    Update_ILCE7RV110
    File size 181 MB (190,222,424 bytes)

  17. #17
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Passed on the first update however took advantage of this one. Opening times are drastically reduced to the point of no lag, almost instant. Nice...

    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,068
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    83

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Just updated with Yosemite, appears to have worked fine.
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    191
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Upgraded the A7s. Faster power-on time I have the impression.

    Nor sure why it takes so long though and why as above-mentioned mentioned it is not done through an SD card. Much more convenient!
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  20. #20
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Quote Originally Posted by jagsiva View Post
    Just updated with Yosemite, appears to have worked fine.
    Cant get it to work
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  21. #21
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Cant get it to work
    Guy, you going to be in the area soon? If so I can help you out and update on a PC.

    Don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  22. #22
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Even worse Don they also took out remote camera control which now eliminates my connection to C1 and tethered.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  23. #23
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,793
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Cant get it to work
    Nor I...sees the camera in the OS however the update does not.

    Bob

  24. #24
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Just have to wait it out it looks like. Not a big deal but losing tethered connection is a big deal. Im okay for a bit though
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  25. #25
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Just a quick update . I did grab my wifes Macbook Air with Mavericks and loaded firmware. Extremely quick turn on time like 3 seconds or less. Far better than when it was.

    Tethered I updated C1 to 8.1 this morning and I forgot to change the USB from mass storage to PC which now without remote camera control from Sony it tethers perfectly and fast. So in essence i can dump sonys crap software off my system.

    Its just camera and C1 is all I need now. I can control quite a bit but not shutter or aperture which is really no big deal to me. The important part is I can shoot from the laptop instead of the camera if i am doing a table top kind of gig I can just work from the laptop.Or even better camera on a big ladder and Im on the ground which stops any shake with my fat butt up on the ladder. LOL

    Now this system is getting even better. These are the things that Pros need
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  26. #26
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Just a quick update . I did grab my wifes Macbook Air with Mavericks and loaded firmware. Extremely quick turn on time like 3 seconds or less. Far better than when it was.

    Tethered I updated C1 to 8.1 this morning and I forgot to change the USB from mass storage to PC which now without remote camera control from Sony it tethers perfectly and fast. So in essence i can dump sonys crap software off my system.

    Its just camera and C1 is all I need now. I can control quite a bit but not shutter or aperture which is really no big deal to me. The important part is I can shoot from the laptop instead of the camera if i am doing a table top kind of gig I can just work from the laptop.Or even better camera on a big ladder and Im on the ground which stops any shake with my fat butt up on the ladder. LOL

    Now this system is getting even better. These are the things that Pros need
    What cable are you using to tether? I've been wondering if there's a good 10-20 foot cable available for tethering the A7/A7r.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  27. #27
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Using the Sony cable that came with it plus a 15 ft Vantec VLink USB 3.0 Active Repeater Cable, 5 Meters (CB-USBARC-3)

    I also have a SIIG brand

    Amazon.com: Vantec VLink USB 3.0 Active Repeater Cable, 5 Meters (CB-USBARC-3): Electronics
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  28. #28
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  29. #29
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    I think I have the 5 meter one which is 41.00
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  30. #30
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Thanks... Ordered a 5m and 10m one. It's always great to have backups.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  31. #31
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Absolutely. I need to get a couple short Sony cables myself.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  32. #32
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Just realized I can use the USB cable from my remote as well.

    Sony RM-VPR1 Remote Control with Multi-terminal Cable RM-VPR1
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  33. #33
    Senior Member JMaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sarasota
    Posts
    942
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    16

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    If you can live with 15 feet you might try Monoprice, $2.04 plus shipping. Works great and I have used this exact cable with the A7r and Lightroom. In general Monoprice has very good quality cable at extremely good prices.

    15ft USB 2.0 A Male to Micro 5pin Male 28/24AWG Cable w/ Ferrite Core (Gold Plated) - Monoprice.com

    Jim

  34. #34
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Quote Originally Posted by JMaher View Post
    If you can live with 15 feet you might try Monoprice, $2.04 plus shipping. Works great and I have used this exact cable with the A7r and Lightroom. In general Monoprice has very good quality cable at extremely good prices.

    15ft USB 2.0 A Male to Micro 5pin Male 28/24AWG Cable w/ Ferrite Core (Gold Plated) - Monoprice.com

    Jim
    Thanks. I'll definitely keep that in mind for spares.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  35. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7/A7r/A7s - firmware update v1.10

    Sony 'Smart remote control' is back up for download on the playmemories website

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •