The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Rumor: Pro FE mount coming

pegelli

If it's true I hope they allow manual input of the focal length (like Olympus).
Otherwise this IBIS is still useless for adapted 3rd party lenses.

pegelli

Hello KH

My information was from a fellow who was comparing long lenses on Sony and Canon. He stated that he saw less vibration with the Canon lens based system. I just did a Google search and found this article:

https://photographylife.com/lens-stabilization-vs-in-camera-stabilization

Of course, not being an electro-mechanical engineer I can't speak to the truth of these statements. However it seems to make sense that motion in a long lens might not be sensed in the camera body as effectively as for a shorter lens.

Regards,
John
Many years ago I did an (unscientific) test with a colleague of mine.

I was using my Konica-Minolta 5D with a Minolta 100-400 zoom lens. (in-body stabilization).

He was using a Canon 30D and a Canon IS 100-400 zoom lens. (in-lens stabilization).

We both shot the same subject, handheld at 400 mm and 1/125th about 40-50 shots (taking some rest in between). The amount of pictures with acceptable sharpness we got was roughly the same (somewhere around the 50-60% mark).

Then we switched cameras and did the same. Again the number of pictures with acceptable sharpness was the same, but both significantly less than the first series with our own camera.

Then we picked up our own cameras again, switched off the stabilization and did another series, we both hardly got any acceptable shots.

For us the conclusion of this test was :