Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Flash on Sony

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    262
    Post Thanks / Like

    Flash on Sony

    New to Sony flash. Is Sony's flash a non-standard interface on the hot shoe?
    I'm looking to pick up a hot shoe to miniphone to go to off camera flash. Will a standard hot shoe work, or do I need something from Sony?
    Camera is A7r
    Shaun O'Boyle
    new.oboylephoto.com

  2. #2
    Senior Member MikeEvangelist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash on Sony

    The a7 series has what's called the 'multi-interface' hotshoe. It works like a normal hotshoe for simple firing of a flash, but includes additional pins for TTL, etc when used with dedicated devices.

    So yes, a standard shoe should work as expected.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    262
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash on Sony

    Great, thanks Mike. Good to hear it will not be an issue when I add pocket wizards in the future also.
    Shaun O'Boyle
    new.oboylephoto.com

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Flash on Sony

    It is an issue and the Sony hotshoe is unreliable! Check every time before firing!

  5. #5
    Senior Member MikeEvangelist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash on Sony

    Quote Originally Posted by Vivek View Post
    It is an issue and the Sony hotshoe is unreliable! Check every time before firing!
    Unreliable in what way? (I don't use flash very often, but it's worked fine for me.)

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Flash on Sony

    Won"t fire all the time and it varies on the fit of the transmitter/ contact.

    Moreover, the highest sync speeds are 1 stop less than advertised ( that only works with Sony or Sony compatible flashes). Sony really screwed up the flash mount.

  7. #7
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Flash on Sony

    I use a Sony 43 on camera and pocket wizards for my Dynalites. Both work just fine.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Flash on Sony

    I'm using both the A7r and A7II. I'm actually on big gig right now using both setups. The PW I use is the III
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash on Sony

    The Nissin i40 and PCB Einstein fired remotely both work fine with the A7 and A7r.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member JMaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sarasota
    Posts
    942
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    16

    Re: Flash on Sony

    I have used Godox transmitters with no problems on studio flash. I have also used an old Nikon sb28 in auto with no misfires. A7r and A72

  11. #11
    Member Rollei6008i's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    106
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash on Sony

    I also new to Sony(A99) , just a few(1 or 2) flashes can be found on the market, besides Sony brand, I choose Phottix which has sony mount & compatiable to original . Built in trigger & reciever, really good.

  12. #12
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash on Sony

    Quote Originally Posted by Rollei6008i View Post
    I also new to Sony(A99) , just a few(1 or 2) flashes can be found on the market, besides Sony brand, I choose Phottix which has sony mount & compatiable to original . Built in trigger & reciever, really good.
    Agree the choices are limited if you want TTL but there are options from Phottix, Nissin, and of course Sony. The good thing is that most flashes/accessories will work in manual mode.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    262
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash on Sony

    I'll be using the Lumopro 180 in manual. This flash gets a lot of recommendations, so interested to see how it works out on the A7r.
    Shaun O'Boyle
    new.oboylephoto.com

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash on Sony

    Quote Originally Posted by soboyle View Post
    I'll be using the Lumopro 180 in manual. This flash gets a lot of recommendations, so interested to see how it works out on the A7r.
    I haven't used it myself but I'm sure all will be interested in your feedback. I heard good things about the Quantum (or Quantaray... I forget) Strobie but it was from a salesman as well.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •