Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 27 of 27

Thread: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

  1. #1
    Senior Member MikeEvangelist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Details from SonyAlphaRumors.

    Sony releases firmware update for A7/r/s and A6000 cameras. A7II gets image stabilization update. | sonyalpharumors

    I applied it with no trouble to both my cameras.

  2. #2
    Member rajeshr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    76
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    I installed in on my A7II with no issues either.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Antonio Chagin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Miami-Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    476
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    I did it on Mac, no problems.

    Do you guys see any improvement in image quality as stated by Sony?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    495
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    1.01 to 1.2

    bonus: nex-7 1.0 to 1.3

  5. #5
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    My understanding is that compared with ver. 1.1 only the compatibility with the new lenses have been improved. Everything else shown in the update description was already included in ver. 1.1 (stabilization, start-up time).

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    384
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Another successful update, albeit not without issues.
    I'm not really that new to updating, but hit the wall with this latest one. MY FAULT. I mistakenly downloaded the incorrect camera file. I have an A7. I downloaded the A7II update, and couldn't work out why the updater faulted. Blamed everything except the operator. Finally worked it out, downloaded the correct file, and away we went.
    Lesson learned.
    Gary
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,606
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_vs_ryu View Post
    1.01 to 1.2

    bonus: nex-7 1.0 to 1.3
    Not sure what you mean.

    My 28/2 appears to have been corrected on the A7s now with the new FW. NEXC3, NEX5N, NEX7 and NEX6 are to be tossed away?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    winnipeg & neelin
    Posts
    72
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_vs_ryu View Post
    1.01 to 1.2

    bonus: nex-7 1.0 to 1.3
    Can you send a link? I'm only seeing 2013.08.27 firmware 1.03 US, Canada, UK.

    Robert

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    I maybe dreaming but my A7r seems more responsive with AF. Anyway updated the A7r and A7II just fine.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    A7s and mkII both updated without a hitch

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    495
    Post Thanks / Like

    Thumbs down Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Quote Originally Posted by neelin View Post
    Can you send a link? I'm only seeing 2013.08.27 firmware 1.03 US, Canada, UK.

    Robert

    My error 1.03

  12. #12
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    What a PITA compared to updating firmware using a CF card.

    Updated both A7r full spectrum and A7II (minor hiccup) but all appears to be fine.

    ken

  13. #13
    Senior Member ecsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Tax State
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Did my A7R and A6000. Thought it was rather easy to do.
    The A7R does seem to lock focus a little faster, but that is probably wishful thinking as Guy put it.
    Joe

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,606
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Start up times are faster on a7 and a7s. Haven't done the a7r (least used at the moment) yet.

    The 28/2 looks straighter (though Raw files are with the distortion) through the EVF.

  15. #15
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Too many variables to say if focus is faster, but start up is noticeably faster on my A7r.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    No CA
    Posts
    796
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Surprised how long the update took on our iMac home computer. Don't expect it to happen in a flash.

    Kirk

  17. #17
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Yes took a while but this time the updates were 100% reliable vs the last 1.10 update which was a complete PITA.

    It might be psychological but I agree that startup seems faster.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    No CA
    Posts
    796
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Update proved a bit harder than I expected. When the update has finally finished running in the camera, it's screen is supposed to come on again - but mine didn't, after 10 minutes or so. I had to turn the camera off and on again and was worried things had 'got stuck.' But the camera claims to have new firmware and seems to function as it should.

    Kirk

  19. #19
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Has anyone had any problems with updating the A7R? I updated my A7 (both were on firmware 1.02) perfectly fine on the first time with Yosemite but I'm on attempt 20-something and the A7R will not take... Weird.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  20. #20
    Senior Member frozenbb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Vancouver Island
    Posts
    263
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    I had no problems updating my A7R to either version, but I'm not using a Mac.

  21. #21
    Senior Member MikeEvangelist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Quote Originally Posted by HiredArm View Post
    Has anyone had any problems with updating the A7R? I updated my A7 (both were on firmware 1.02) perfectly fine on the first time with Yosemite
    I had trouble with one of mine on Yosemite. Fortunately I had another Mac available running 10.9 and that worked.

  22. #22
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Yeah I'm traveling so no access to another computer for about a week and a half.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  23. #23
    Senior Member ecsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Tax State
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    I did my A7r and A6000 to 1.21 with no issues. Startup is faster now.

  24. #24
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Quote Originally Posted by ecsh View Post
    I did my A7r and A6000 to 1.21 with no issues. Startup is faster now.
    Yeah it's weird because my A7 updated the first time without any issues but the A7R just won't take. I tried it with both A7R firmwares (A7r & A7R/B) too to make sure I wasn't choosing the wrong one.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Still having problem upgrading my A7 and A7s with a Mac running 10.10.3

    Michael Rivers
    Leica Q, SL


  26. #26
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Quote Originally Posted by RiversPhoto View Post
    Still having problem upgrading my A7 and A7s with a Mac running 10.10.3

    Yeah I'm gonna try on my fiancé's SP3 when I get back from traveling but it's weird that I'm not having the issue with the A7 that I'm having with the A7R on the same machine.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  27. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Firmware 1.2 available for A7/A7R/A7S/A7ii

    Hi Michael,

    Thank you for contacting Sony Alpha Email Response Team.

    I understand that you can’t update the firmware of your camera using your 10.10.3 Mac computer.

    I am sorry for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, our firmware updater is not yet compatible with Mac OS X 10.10.3. Our software engineers are still update our software in order for it to be compatible with the latest Mac OS version. I suggest to use a different computer like lower version of Mac or a Windows computer to update the firmware of your camera. You may visit our eSupport.Sony.com website for any news and updates regarding our firmware update.
    Michael Rivers
    Leica Q, SL


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •