Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: CA with my A7RII

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    CA with my A7RII

    Sorry to start with a sour note, but wanted to use this resource to explore for a possible solution. Have been a great fan of the Sony FF's since their inception.

    I am seeing moderate CA in the out of focus area when shooting under harsh contrast conditions with ooc jpegs. Under the same conditions I never detected this with my A7II.

    Using the 55 1.8 ZA lens wide open in both cases.

    Is there something that I am missing in settings that will cause/exaggerate this condition?

    I am using standard creative style saturation +2.

    Will be happy to post my photo for your evaluation.

    Thank you all for any suggestions.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Antonio Chagin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Miami-Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    476
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CA with my A7RII

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamesya View Post
    Sorry to start with a sour note, but wanted to use this resource to explore for a possible solution. Have been a great fan of the Sony FF's since their inception.

    I am seeing moderate CA in the out of focus area when shooting under harsh contrast conditions with ooc jpegs. Under the same conditions I never detected this with my A7II.

    Using the 55 1.8 ZA lens wide open in both cases.

    Is there something that I am missing in settings that will cause/exaggerate this condition?

    I am using standard creative style saturation +2.

    Will be happy to post my photo for your evaluation.

    Thank you all for any suggestions.
    Hi James, I have the A7R not the A7RII but I see CA in many shots I take, just use the CA corrector in the software you have, like C1, ACR and LR all have a box you can click on to correct for CA.

  3. #3
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: CA with my A7RII

    You can also shoot at F2 and a lot will go away. What your seeing is normal and coming from the lens. It has some CA wide open
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CA with my A7RII

    Quote Originally Posted by Antonio Chagin View Post
    Hi James, I have the A7R not the A7RII but I see CA in many shots I take, just use the CA corrector in the software you have, like C1, ACR and LR all have a box you can click on to correct for CA.
    Thanks Antonio,

    I do have C1, but right now I am just shooting jpegs and not raw. With the A7ii I never needed this extra step to remove CA in jpegs. I know raw is always best for all corrections, but was now more concern with why the difference between cameras.

    Again thanks

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CA with my A7RII

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    You can also shoot at F2 and a lot will go away. What your seeing is normal and coming from the lens. It has some CA wide open
    Thanks Guy,

    I have been using you as a resource for lots of info. I do understand that stopping down will improve this, but my concern is that under the same conditions with the A7II, CA is much less than with the A7RII. Since I am using the same lens in both examples there seems to be another source of the CA.

    Is this something that would be expected with this new high resolution sensor?

    I have been following other threads that would suggest the opposite due to the light sensors being moved to the top.

    Again thanks for your response and am looking forward to any further suggestions from the group.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Annna T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Swiss Alps
    Posts
    1,444
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: CA with my A7RII

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamesya View Post
    Thanks Guy,

    I have been using you as a resource for lots of info. I do understand that stopping down will improve this, but my concern is that under the same conditions with the A7II, CA is much less than with the A7RII. Since I am using the same lens in both examples there seems to be another source of the CA.

    Is this something that would be expected with this new high resolution sensor?

    I have been following other threads that would suggest the opposite due to the light sensors being moved to the top.

    Again thanks for your response and am looking forward to any further suggestions from the group.
    If you are looking at your pictures with a 1:1 magnification, then the A7r2 having more resolution will make CA more visible aka a two pixels CA may become a 3 or 4 pixels one (depending on the body you were using before). Another things to check : There is probably an option to tell the camera whether lens defects are to be corrected or not. Make sure it is set to yes. Some defaults may have changed between the two cameras.

    It us a well known fact that high resolution sensors are more demanding for lenses. You will have to find workaround of shoot raws.

    Several things can "enhance" CA : like the amount of sharpness, saturation and contrast you dialed in. The settings you are using with your other body may not be the best for the new one.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CA with my A7RII

    Quote Originally Posted by Annna T View Post
    If you are looking at your pictures with a 1:1 magnification, then the A7r2 having more resolution will make CA more visible aka a two pixels CA may become a 3 or 4 pixels one (depending on the body you were using before). Another things to check : There is probably an option to tell the camera whether lens defects are to be corrected or not. Make sure it is set to yes. Some defaults may have changed between the two cameras.

    It us a well known fact that high resolution sensors are more demanding for lenses. You will have to find workaround of shoot raws.

    Several things can "enhance" CA : like the amount of sharpness, saturation and contrast you dialed in. The settings you are using with your other body may not be the best for the new one.


    Hi Annna and thanks for your response.

    Since I started the post I have been playing with both cameras. You are very correct that the setting are not equal and I had to sort that out. Basically I have now reached the conclusion (with other settings being equaled) that the CA of both cameras can be matched when using the same lens one stop different. Is is as you say, that the higher resolution sensor is more demanding and is exaggerating the CA.

    All being said I am very happy with my purchase and even more happy with meeting a few of you on the forum.

    Again thanks to you and the rest in this group for your kind help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •