Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: A7RII focusing question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Beach Haven, NJ
    Posts
    685
    Post Thanks / Like

    A7RII focusing question

    Greetings all: I am new with this camera. I have FOCUS AREA set to "Center". With a native FE lens attached, when I look through the view finder or monitor, there is a small rectangle in the middle of the screen, which I place on the area I want to focus on. When I mount an LA-EA3 adapter and a Sony or Zeiss "A" mount lens on the camera, I still get the small focusing rectangle in the center of the finder and monitor, but I also get a bunch of little squares inside the rectangle. How can I get rid of these; they are very distracting. What are they for?
    Thanks in advance.
    Dave in NJ

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    Dave sounds like your on AFC and not AFS. I'll check later with camera in hand
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    Quote Originally Posted by gurtch View Post
    Greetings all: I am new with this camera. I have FOCUS AREA set to "Center". With a native FE lens attached, when I look through the view finder or monitor, there is a small rectangle in the middle of the screen, which I place on the area I want to focus on. When I mount an LA-EA3 adapter and a Sony or Zeiss "A" mount lens on the camera, I still get the small focusing rectangle in the center of the finder and monitor, but I also get a bunch of little squares inside the rectangle. How can I get rid of these; they are very distracting. What are they for?
    Thanks in advance.
    Dave in NJ
    Check in the menu "gear" tab, page 7 and see if AF System is set to Phase Detection or Contrast. If it is Phase Detect the the little squares (green) would be active PD focus points.
    Carl
    Gallery

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Beach Haven, NJ
    Posts
    685
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    Quote Originally Posted by scho View Post
    Check in the menu "gear" tab, page 7 and see if AF System is set to Phase Detection or Contrast. If it is Phase Detect the the little squares (green) would be active PD focus points.
    Thanks: You are exactly right. I had selected (probably by default) Phase Detection. If I change it to Contrast, the little squares go away, but the auto focus is slower, and less precise. It hunts before locking in. It seems like a trade off: can I live with the little squares for faster auto focus, or get rid of them and have the focus be slower? BTW when a native lens is mounted, you cannot choose Contrast or Phase Detection. You get a warning saying something like "this lens not valid"
    Thanks again
    Dave
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,298
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    Quote Originally Posted by gurtch View Post
    Thanks: You are exactly right. I had selected (probably by default) Phase Detection. If I change it to Contrast, the little squares go away, but the auto focus is slower, and less precise. It hunts before locking in. It seems like a trade off: can I live with the little squares for faster auto focus, or get rid of them and have the focus be slower? BTW when a native lens is mounted, you cannot choose Contrast or Phase Detection. You get a warning saying something like "this lens not valid"
    Thanks again
    Dave
    Yup, I think you get that only for A lenses with adapter, right?
    I don't have an A lens, so would like to confirm or correct the sentence above.
    With best regards, K-H.

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    Yup, I think you get that only for A lenses with adapter, right?
    I don't have an A lens, so would like to confirm or correct the sentence above.
    I guess with any adapter or lens that is compatible with PDAF. PDAF mode is active when I mount a Contax G lens in the TechArt adapter III (firmware ver 2.0) on the A7RII, but not on the A7R. Performance is fantastic compared to contrast, but there are some bugs that prevent close focus as pointed out by Chad in his thread on the new TechArt adapter firmware.
    Carl
    Gallery
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    One other recommendation when using PDAF on the A7RII. For focus area, select Flexible Spot: S (small) when using wide aperture and/or for most precise focus. This will also usually give you only one or two small green squares in the viewfinder and reduces the chance of mis-focus.

    Here are a couple of examples focused as described above, using A7RII+Contax G 45mm f/2 Planar at f/2. Focus point is highlighted in bright green as it would appear in the viewfinder.



    Last edited by scho; 12th September 2015 at 15:29.
    Carl
    Gallery
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,926
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    Quote Originally Posted by gurtch View Post
    Thanks: You are exactly right. I had selected (probably by default) Phase Detection. If I change it to Contrast, the little squares go away, but the auto focus is slower, and less precise. It hunts before locking in. It seems like a trade off: can I live with the little squares for faster auto focus, or get rid of them and have the focus be slower? BTW when a native lens is mounted, you cannot choose Contrast or Phase Detection. You get a warning saying something like "this lens not valid"
    Thanks again
    Dave
    Dave, when you are referring to a native lens, which lenses are those?

    I am still trying to figure out all the various AF options on the A7rII. As I understand it now, the Phase detect will work with any A mount lens that has the SAM or SSM motor and the LA-EA3 lens adapter, or with any FE mount lens. Is this correct?

    Thanks
    Paul

  9. #9
    Senior Member ErikKaffehr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Nyköping Sweden
    Posts
    1,192
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    Hi Paul,

    What I see is that the FE lenses "snap to focus" while the A-mount lenses iterate for focus. I have also tried a Canon 70-200/2.8LII yesterday and it worked like the Sony A-mounts I have tried.

    I have two native mount lenses, the 28-70/4.5 - 5.6 and the Sony 90/2.8 FE. The 90/2.8 focuses extremely fast under optimal conditions. The kit zoom is OK, sort of.

    Best regards
    Erik


    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Dave, when you are referring to a native lens, which lenses are those?

    I am still trying to figure out all the various AF options on the A7rII. As I understand it now, the Phase detect will work with any A mount lens that has the SAM or SSM motor and the LA-EA3 lens adapter, or with any FE mount lens. Is this correct?

    Thanks
    Paul

  10. #10
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    Erik the kit lens is just okay at focusing , more lens than camera situation. You may want to get the 55 1.8 . I think that lens is right up your alley. Extremely sharp.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Massachusetts and Vermont
    Posts
    947
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII focusing question

    For anyone using Sony A mount lenses with an adapter, please note that there is considerable uncertainty about whether the LAEA3 adapter is, in fact, the best choice. The conventional advice has been that the LAEA3 adapter is best for Sony A mount lenses. However, I have read reports from people who have tested both the LAEA3 and the LAEA4 that the autofocus works better with the LAEA4. There is apparently less hunting with the LAEA4. Best to try both.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •