The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

A7RII focusing question

gurtch

Greetings all: I am new with this camera. I have FOCUS AREA set to "Center". With a native FE lens attached, when I look through the view finder or monitor, there is a small rectangle in the middle of the screen, which I place on the area I want to focus on. When I mount an LA-EA3 adapter and a Sony or Zeiss "A" mount lens on the camera, I still get the small focusing rectangle in the center of the finder and monitor, but I also get a bunch of little squares inside the rectangle. How can I get rid of these; they are very distracting. What are they for?
Thanks in advance.
Dave in NJ

scho

Greetings all: I am new with this camera. I have FOCUS AREA set to "Center". With a native FE lens attached, when I look through the view finder or monitor, there is a small rectangle in the middle of the screen, which I place on the area I want to focus on. When I mount an LA-EA3 adapter and a Sony or Zeiss "A" mount lens on the camera, I still get the small focusing rectangle in the center of the finder and monitor, but I also get a bunch of little squares inside the rectangle. How can I get rid of these; they are very distracting. What are they for?
Thanks in advance.
Dave in NJ
Check in the menu "gear" tab, page 7 and see if AF System is set to Phase Detection or Contrast. If it is Phase Detect the the little squares (green) would be active PD focus points.

gurtch

Check in the menu "gear" tab, page 7 and see if AF System is set to Phase Detection or Contrast. If it is Phase Detect the the little squares (green) would be active PD focus points.