Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: A7RII Camera Error Issue

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,541
    Post Thanks / Like

    A7RII Camera Error Issue

    I started getting the dreaded "camera error, turn camera off and then on again" warning this evening. Only escape is to yank the battery and re-start, but then it keeps giving same warning and lock up with each shot. Tried different lenses and batteries with no effect. Reset the camera no effect. Any solution other than returning for repair? Almost sounds like the shutter is trying to fire twice before the error pops up?
    Carl
    Gallery
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII Camera Error Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by scho View Post
    I started getting the dreaded "camera error, turn camera off and then on again" warning this evening. Only escape is to yank the battery and re-start, but then it keeps giving same warning and lock up with each shot. Tried different lenses and batteries with no effect. Reset the camera no effect. Any solution other than returning for repair? Almost sounds like the shutter is trying to fire twice before the error pops up?
    WHEW! Fixed. I called Sony support and agent asked me to remove battery and then turn on camera for about 30 sec, turn off, replace battery and try again. At first this did not work and I was told to send the camera to Precision in CT for repair, but then I tried again leaving camera on for a longer period of time (about 5 min) w/o the battery and this procedure worked.
    Carl
    Gallery
    Thanks 5 Member(s) thanked for this post

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,302
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII Camera Error Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by scho View Post
    WHEW! Fixed. I called Sony support and agent asked me to remove battery and then turn on camera for about 30 sec, turn off, replace battery and try again. At first this did not work and I was told to send the camera to Precision in CT for repair, but then I tried again leaving camera on for a longer period of time (about 5 min) w/o the battery and this procedure worked.
    Many thanks Carl for the info. Good luck that the error doesn't repeat itself.
    Do you think this error could be related to the internal battery in some way?
    TIA.
    With best regards, K-H.

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII Camera Error Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    Many thanks Carl for the info. Good luck that the error doesn't repeat itself.
    Do you think this error could be related to the internal battery in some way?
    TIA.
    Thank you, I will hope that does not occur again. I really do not know what caused the problem.
    Carl
    Gallery
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,999
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII Camera Error Issue

    Carl, let's hope this is just a freak occurrence, but at least we've got some kind of cure to it.
    Just wondering, did you lose any settings like date&time ?

    All the best.
    Bart ...

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: A7RII Camera Error Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Knorp View Post
    Carl, let's hope this is just a freak occurrence, but at least we've got some kind of cure to it.
    Just wondering, did you lose any settings like date&time ?

    All the best.
    Thanks Bart, I have my fingers crossed that this will not happen again. Yes I lost all of my settings and had to reset time/date etc. Hopefully this is not a hardware issue and is just something in the software.
    Carl
    Gallery
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •