Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Capture One rotation when tethered

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture One rotation when tethered

    Hi guys, looking for some advice here. I normally shoot Hassy tethered to Phocus, or Canon to Capture One, but I own a Sony A7rII which I have been using for some work too and decided to try tethering it today. It was working fine but I ran into a problem when shooting directly overhead, camera pointing down to a table top, in portrait orientation for a magazine cover. The image comes into the computer in landscape orientation, and even after rotating it the following capture is landscape again.

    Is there any way to lock the orientation to avoid this? It's pretty much unusable if not, especially with a crop applied, an overlay on etc. I can't rotate every capture manually with clients there etc. There is nothing I can see in the camera settings to fix it, but I really hope I'm wrong!!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One rotation when tethered

    I'm not sure if this will work or not, probably not but it's worth a try.

    Camera menu, 5th icon on top row (arrow head), sub menu 1, set Display Rotation to OFF.


    Bob.

  3. #3
    Member Chris Barrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    201
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One rotation when tethered

    I've head this issue when shooting in studio (straight down) or with Architecture (straight up). The camera literally doesn't know which way is up when you have it perfectly leveled and pointing up or down. For me, it was with Phase One backs. When I correct the rotation in Capture 1, the software for some reason refuses to apply that to the next capture, even though it applies all the other settings.

    Definitely a C1 bug and most annoying.

    CB
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One rotation when tethered

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Parsons View Post
    I'm not sure if this will work or not, probably not but it's worth a try.

    Camera menu, 5th icon on top row (arrow head), sub menu 1, set Display Rotation to OFF.


    Bob.
    Hi Bob,

    Thanks I am on that setting now, and tried all the others. I think that just affects how images are displayed during playback on the camera.

    Ben

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One rotation when tethered

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Barrett View Post
    I've head this issue when shooting in studio (straight down) or with Architecture (straight up). The camera literally doesn't know which way is up when you have it perfectly leveled and pointing up or down. For me, it was with Phase One backs. When I correct the rotation in Capture 1, the software for some reason refuses to apply that to the next capture, even though it applies all the other settings.

    Definitely a C1 bug and most annoying.

    CB
    Thanks Chris, very helpful info. I suppose I'll have to lobby Phase for a fix, otherwise I can't really use the camera tethered. I seem to shoot a lot of overhead portrait shots.

    With my Hassy I can lock the orientation in the camera's menu which avoids any of this trouble. Plus, Phocus remembers the rotation for the next capture, which is no-brainer really. Like remembering the WB or other settings.

    Ben

  6. #6
    Member Chris Barrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    201
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One rotation when tethered

    Ben, I've cross posted this to LuLa since Phase One dealers hang out there and hopefully will have a solution.

    http://forum.luminous-landscape.com/...topic=105223.0

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One rotation when tethered

    Hi Chris,

    Thanks for that. Actually I've had a reply from Phase support, but I haven't had a chance to try their solution.

    They said:

    Hi,

    You should be able to change this.

    Go to Next Capture Adjustments and under All Other go copy from last.

    Then in the Camera Tab at the top of Capture One you can select what orientation you want on import.

    I hope this helps

    Kind regards

    Phase One Support



    Seems like a complicated solution, but it just be a case of me being unfamiliar with C1. I'll try it when I get into the studio today and report back.

    Ben

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One rotation when tethered

    Just tried it - doesn't work. The Camera menu item 'Orientation' just shows all the options greyed out.

    Bummer...

    Ben

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One rotation when tethered

    Well Phase support has been quite helpful with a workaround.

    They told me some cameras, like the A7rII, don't support the ability to specify orientation on import, due to the data that the camera supplies when tethered. This is why the orientation settings are greyed out in the camera tab in C1.

    The way to do it is to select 'copy from primary using clipboard' in the Next Capture Adjustment tool, then tick every box in the Adjustments Clipboard list (except metadata perhaps) and then any change made to the last capture, including rotation, is applied to the subsequent capture. Works fine. I'm happy there is a solution and I have learned a bit more about some of C1's intricacies.

    Ben
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •