The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Dedicated Monochrome Cameras

V

Vivek

As some of you may have noticed, I have been using a monochrome converted NEX-5N for a few years now. At around the same time of having that converted by Dan at maxmax, I was also fortunate enough to buy and use a Leica MM.

The full frame MM led to the neglect of the NEX-5N but personal reasons made me go back to the lighter 5N. As the MM’s sensor corroded and needed replacement, the NEX-5N was in use all the time. At the time of the free sensor replacement, Leica sent me an “upgrade” possibility from the MM to their 24MP CMOS monochrome camera. Of course I had to give my old MM and hand over a huge amount of cash for this previlege. So, that pushed to to go for my monochrome converted A7rII. Daniel at monochromeimaging did a superb job of the conversion.

The conversion entailed getting rid of the UV/IR filter stack, the cover glass, and getting rid of the Bayer color filter array. I had a clear fused silica (1mm) thick put in as a sensor cover.

As there is quite a bit of interest in these cameras and also as we happen to have two members here- Gary and Carl having their own converted monochrome cameras, i thought I will start a separate thread for those wanting more information.

With the advent of a great RAW processor in monochrome2dng, the results have been quite pleasing.

I will add more information as and when I find time. Yes, I do have 3 monochrome cameras at the moment (the Leica with a brand new sensor is up for sale).

Hope, Carl and Gary will also chime in with their experience.

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member