The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

What's the consensus of the Sony A7RII now?

V

Vivek

I am an amateur (do not equate that to someone who does not know how things work!) and speak from my experience . Yes, shots are missed due to slowness in AF.

The 55/1.8 focuses slower than the 35/2.8 and the 85/1.8.

The look and the feel of Batis ar enough incentve for me not to spend any money on them.

Ask Zeiss if they have put a distance encoder in their Loxiae.

Tamron did. :)

iiiNelson

I am an amateur (do not equate that to someone who does not know how things work!) and speak from my experience . Yes, shots are missed due to slowness in AF.

The 55/1.8 focuses slower than the 35/2.8 and the 85/1.8.

The look and the feel of Batis ar enough incentve for me not to spend any money on them.

Ask Zeiss if they have put a distance encoder in their Loxiae.

Tamron did. :)
Never said you were an amateur... and again I disagree that the 55 autofocuses slowly just because some lenses MAY focus faster. Doesn’t make a lens slow but slower in a relative sense - and even that becomes debatable into HOW MUCH SLOWER. That’s not my experiences of shooting weddings, portraits, or other types of photography with it. The point was not to disparage you personally but to speak on topic of helping the original poster and Tim. You provide statements without personal or comparative context that read as an absolute statement without many qualifiers - which elicit certain responses.

Take it for what it’s worth.