The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Sony A7RIV Impressions

vjbelle

I've had this camera for a couple of days and am convinced that this was a very good purchase. This is very unlike my experiences with the Fuji 50s which was more love/hate.

The EVF is a dream - crystal clear with the ability to focus extremely easy. Contrast this to the Fuji 50s where everything is a blur and not easy to focus. It's not that I couldn't focus with the 50s as I have had extensive experience focusing with a Phase IQ180. For those of you who have ever tried to focus with the IQ180 you know where I'm coming from..... If you can focus with that particular Phase you can focus with anything.

Wish the Sony had focus stacking.... it's the only thing missing FMPOV. Files are wonderful with almost spot on color. Lens selection is extensive with world class lenses available.

So far I have the Voigtlander 65 and 110. Both have jaw dropping performance. I receive the Sigma 35mm f1.2 tomorrow and the Sigma 85mm f1.4 on Thursday. I expect those two lenses to be exemplary. For me that range of lenses covers 99% of what I shoot.

I intend to use the Sony with my Actus and all of my LF lenses with the exception of the Schneider 35XL which I don't believe will reach infinity. From 60mm to 180mm I will have full movements available and the ability to easily create shifted 16X9 images with the Sony in Portrait position. Those files will have dimensions of 16896 X 9505 with 4 files needed. I'll also have access to my most used movement 'Rise' to keep nice straight vertical lines