The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Sony E mount WA Conundrum

gurtch

Let me start off by saying I am an amateur. I always have strived for the best possible quality in equipment, as my ultimate goal is a big print, that I make myself. I use a Sony A7RII, I have several fixed focal length lenses, including 35mm f2.8 Sony Zeiss, 55mm f1.8 Sony Zeiss, 85mm Sony, and 70mm Sigma Art Macro. These usually remain in my bag in the car, as my principal interest is seascapes. I usually walk the beach with a Voigtlander 12mm, Sony 16-35mm and Sony 24-105mm lenses. Recently I read some very favorable reviews of the Sony 12-24mm f 4 lens. It got me to thinking I could sell the Voigtlander and Sony 16-35mm and finance a 12-24mm, cutting down on weight and number of lenses in my pocket. I am 83 years of age so weight and bulk are an issue. If I would be giving up image quality for convenience, I will not bother. Any practical experience among my learned colleagues regarding the 12mm-24mm? I might add that I always keep a UV filter on my lenses to protect from salt air and blowing fine sand. The 12-24mm will not accept a screw in filter, so I would keep the lens cap on until I was ready to shoot, then replace it after the shot.
Thanks in advance
Dave in NJ
MODERN PICTORIALS

pegelli

I don't have the 12-24 but I have used it for a couple of hours during a photography meet. It's a fine lens optically but I found it too big and bulky for my taste (that's very personal of course) and the fact the front element bulges out so far would scare me a lot for inadvertent bumps.