Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What do you do for living?

Post Thanks / Like

What do you do for living?

Well I asked this on an another forum and quite a response and got to know many people beyond their forum names and gear list. So thought I would start it here as well

If you don't mind answering, tell what you do for a living? Is photography is your profession (meaning earning completely based on photography) or is it more of a hobby and you do something else as your day job?

Starting with me, I am a IT Project Mgr in a small firm, currently based in US. In 2003 when I was in Paris photography bug bite me and I got my first digital Sony V1 and also met some photographers group/members online (paw, seephoto by Godfrey etc), some of them are members here as well. So nice to see them around after 6-7 years...

Post Thanks / Like

Re: What do you do for living?

I'm a software developer currently at a small firm. I've been into photography, to a greater or lesser extent, since I was around 12 or so. Bought my first SLR (Miranda Sensorex) at age 13 in the mid-70s. Still remember that it cost $139.99 from some mail-order shop in New York.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm a lawyer and have been in practice since 1984.

I got my first camera, a Kodak Hawkeye, when I was 7 in 1963, and my first SLR, a Canon FX, when I was 15. Photography has always been a hobby for me; one that I can incorporate into just about every aspect of my life.
    Ron Smith
    Flickr

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Investment management for private clients.

We had a darkroom when I was growing up but after leaving for college I completely gave up photography except for your basic documenting of events with friends and family. Finally the Digilux 2 came along with its analog controls and it rekindled my love for the art.

Post Thanks / Like