Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: I know...crazy question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    I know...crazy question

    I know this is not photo related, BUT who knows how to run a windows program on an iMac? Can it be done or no?

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,848
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I know...crazy question

    Yes, check out Parallels or VMWare Fusion, or google BootCamp. Assuming you have an Intel iMac of course.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: I know...crazy question

    Thanks Robert

  4. #4
    tokengirl
    Guest

    Re: I know...crazy question

    I am running Windows on a new MacBook Pro right now, using Boot Camp. Works perfectly (though it is painful to see that ugly Windows logo pop up on your Mac's screen ).

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: I know...crazy question

    Hi There
    We run a software development company . . . . for windows (largely).
    We don't have any PC's - everyone uses macs.
    Having tried the different options:
    boot camp
    parallels
    VMware fusion.

    I would recommend that you use VMware - it's really robust and reliable, much much less hassle than running boot camp (where you have to restart your mac each time you want to run windows).

    All you need is a copy of VMware, and an OEM version of Windows to install. It takes about 25 minutes, it's really really simple, and it really really works.

    Having started VMware, you can treat your Windows applications pretty much the same way as mac ones - they'll exist in your task bar, you can exchange data between OsX and Windows.

    Simple and good!

    Just this guy you know

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,848
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I know...crazy question

    Yes, that's what I have used for quite a while, highly recommended. I tried Parallels early on, but VMWare was better; although that may have changed in the interim, I have stuck with VMWare.

  7. #7
    meilicke
    Guest

    Re: I know...crazy question

    I use both parallels and fusion (vmware). They both work well, and tend to leapfrog each other. My current favorite is parallels 6. It seems faster than fusion (no data to back that up), and their coherence mode is faster I think. Also, you can assign an odd number of CPUs to your VM (surely a specialty need, but I appreciate it).

    Surely fusion will jump ahead with the next release, and so on. They are both mature products, and I think cannot go wrong with either one.

  8. #8
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: I know...crazy question

    I am another vmware fusion happy customer.
    I love the ability to use canned os images of almost any type.
    -bob

  9. #9
    Senior Member kevinparis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    919
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: I know...crazy question

    there is also virtualbox

    http://www.virtualbox.org/

    which has the very scottish friendly price of free :-)

    not really driven it hard but might do

    K

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •