The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Makes me a little sick Leica resellers

dseelig

Well with the 240 out and knowing that there are photographers, needing this camera it does make me sick that people are reselling it out oif the reach of a working pro, find another way to make a buck. Any chance we can make it any one reselling a leica over list price must have over a certain number of posts not including the buy and sell board. Sorry but I am a poor working pro.

stephengilbert

Though I agree that the predatory pricing of gear is contrary to the generally friendly atmosphere here, I doubt that the change you suggest will happen.

In my view, exorbitant prices for photo gear is probably more the fault of the brand's fans than of the sellers. Besides, I've seen some long time members asking pretty high prices for used equipment when the market permits.

woodyspedden

Though I agree that the predatory pricing of gear is contrary to the generally friendly atmosphere here, I doubt that the change you suggest will happen.

In my view, exorbitant prices for photo gear is probably more the fault of the brand's fans than of the sellers. Besides, I've seen some long time members asking pretty high prices for used equipment when the market permits.
Frankly if Leica didn't introduce a mainstream product like the M without the ability to deliver this thread would not exist

monza

^^^^this.

They have not fixed their production bottleneck that began with the M9.

A higher price equalizes the demand with the supply. If there was more supply than demand, would people be upset if the price was below retail? :)

dseelig