The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

The muse has been out

djonesii

Workshop Member
Dear all;

The muse has been out for a while.

Still going through the motions, did the yearly "garden in bloom shots"

All the Scout events ....

Swim team ....

But without the same passion.

Ever dealt with this photographically, if so, how did you get out of da'Funk?

dave

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Its really hard. For me 38 years as a Pro I have been through many funks and really the only thing I can pinpoint to get me out is a gig that really flips my jets on. In the meantime I switch cameras out often and that helps its temporary but it helps.

Im going through one right now but not because of what I am shooting, I'm just bored a little for some reason. I also hate the heat and its starting to warm up.

Stuart Richardson

I went to the International Center of Photography for awhile, and one of the classes I had was called Roll a Day. The concept was as simple as it sounds -- you have to shoot 36 exposures a day, no matter what. Each day of the week you have to print a contact sheet and one 5x7. You have to print the blank frames if you did not finish a roll (or 36 digital shots). Each week you pick one image to make an 8x10, every two weeks an 11x14 and every month a 16x20. Tack the work up onto the wall and live with it. You need to confront it if you want to learn and break free of the stagnation.