The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

How to ask brides/clients to be patient?

haring

I am a wedding photographer. Brides always want me to select single photos and send to them before delivery date. I am not really talking about thank you card but other photos with family remembers.
I would love to do it for them and send them but the only problem that it really messes up my workflow. I allocate equal time for everybody's wedding. It is hard to pull the drives, go through the wedding photos, selecting them and editing them before final delivery while I am still editing somebody else's wedding. It takes a long time and this way I feel that I will never be able to meet my deadlines.

The best example is father's day. Everybody wants to have a photo with their father...

How do you do it? Are sending clients/brides photos after their wedding before the delivery date or you ask them to wait for the final product? If you ask them how do you ask them to be patient?

bradhusick

You could always implement a "pay for speed" option that makes it much more expensive to get a fast turnaround - that will naturally separate people into different groups.

Normal speed = $X
Delivery in half the time = $X times 1.7
Delivery in quarter the time = $X times 3

Jorgen Udvang

Subscriber Member
After events (I don't do weddings, or at least, I try not to), I always deliver per email 2 photos the next morning or even the same night, one formal and one informal, always including some of the most important people present. I've made this part of my workflow and it doesn't take many minutes to do it.

Some advantages are: