The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

New Rodenstock HRSW coming - 135/140mm!

TheDude

Sounds to me that Rody got a Copal shutter that was just a tiny amount thinner than the spec so instead of tossing it they added a couple of small spacers (easily could have been just one thicker spacer). What would they ever do if the Copal was too thick? Spacers only add to the distance between the two elements. Why don't you remove the spacers and see if it has any effect on lens performance? I'm not a lens designer but I have to think that there is a spacing window that allows for the rear and front elements to exist for spec performance. There are just too many variables for spacing that would cause a nightmare if this wasn't true.

Victor
Possible that the spacing of the Digaron lens elements are designed with spacers in mind in order to be able to compensate for any manufacturing variances of the Copal shutter. But this is pure speculation on my side.
I mounted the lens elements of my 23mm Digaron to a different, not calibrated, Copal shutter and I couldn’t see a difference in the enlarged live focus view of my CFV-50c.

Last edited:

vjbelle