Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: 800e Mirror-up

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    381
    Post Thanks / Like

    800e Mirror-up

    I am new to this camera. Is there any way to shoot a continuous series of bracketed images with the mirror-up during the entire sequence?

  2. #2
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Not directly. You can fire the sequence with an external intervalometer app via USB but it'll still do the mirror up sequence.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  3. #3
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    800e Mirror-up


    Hi cerett
    I do not think it is possible to raise the mirror and then have a continuous series of bracketed images taken before the mirror lowers again.

    But to avoid camera shake from your shutter release pressure as well as the mirror slap (e.g. when combining EV bracketed captures into one HDR image) you can combine these features:

    Bracketing settings (see p. 132-134 + p. 307-308 in the User Manual)
    c3 Self-timer delay (to avoid camera shake from your shutter pressure, see p. 106 + 291 in the User Manual)
    c3 Self-timer Number of shots (to avoid camera shake from your shutter pressure, see p. 106 + 291 in the User Manual)
    c3 Self-timer Interval between shots (see p. 106 + 291 in the User Manual)
    d4 Exposure delay (to avoid camera shake from the mirror slap, see p. 293 in the User Manual)



    Here's an example of what actually to do, step-by-step (just a learning-by-doing example, instead of reading)

    • MENU button >> CUSTOM SETTING MENU >> e5 Auto bracketing set >> e.g. AE & flash >> OK
    • Press the BKT button (top left) and rotate the main (back) command dial to choose the number of shots (e.g. "F3" = three EVs centered around the correct balanced exposure)
    • Press the BKT button and rotate the sub-command (front) dial to choose the exposure increment, e.g. 1.0 EV)
    • Set the Release Mode dial (top left) on Self-timer
    • MENU button >> CUSTOM SETTING MENU >> c3 Self-timer delay e.g. 2s >> OK >> Number of shots e.g. 3 >> OK >> Interval between shots e.g. 0,5s >> OK
    • MENU button >> CUSTOM SETTING MENU >> d4 Exposure delay e.g. 2s >> OK

    And then you should be ready to fire.
    With a rock solid tripod and head you shouldn't have any problems left with camera shake.



























    Also see Jan Brittenson's remark about Vibration Reduction (VR) in this thread

    http://www.getdpi.com/forum/nikon/37...tml#post422397

    .
    Last edited by Steen; 30th December 2012 at 06:13.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    528
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    Not directly. You can fire the sequence with an external intervalometer app via USB but it'll still do the mirror up sequence.

    Simply said, no there is not. This is one of things that irritate me since the D1. How hard could it be, a mirror-up button. There is already a mirror up mode for cleaning purposes so why not a true mirror up is beyond me.
    Last edited by Dustbak; 30th December 2012 at 07:30.

  5. #5
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Can't you just use live view and manual exposure, moving the shutter speed manually between exposures?

  6. #6
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    That's what I do when it's needed.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  7. #7
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    800e Mirror-up


    ... but then you have to touch the camera and rotate a dial in between the captures, and thereby maybe move the camera a tad ?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    381
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Thanks - It is as I suspected, but wanted to make sure I was not missing something. I don't understand why the mirror cannot stay up for all exposures until released by some kind of button, etc., like the H4D. That would be very useful for a HDR bracketing sequence. FWIW, I believe the Canon 5D 3 has the same issue.

  9. #9
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Quote Originally Posted by Steen View Post
    ... but then you have to touch the camera and rotate a dial in between the captures, and thereby maybe move the camera a tad ?
    I found a motor whirring off three shots created more vibration than just doing three carefully exposed shots. I am new to Nikon, but is there a remote that allows you to change the shutter speeds using the remote?

  10. #10
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Quote Originally Posted by robsteve View Post
    I found a motor whirring off three shots created more vibration than just doing three carefully exposed shots. I am new to Nikon, but is there a remote that allows you to change the shutter speeds using the remote?
    It depends on how much you want to spend and how many cables. Both Promote Control and CamRanger wifi/iPad/iPhone will do this.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Quote Originally Posted by cerett View Post
    I am new to this camera. Is there any way to shoot a continuous series of bracketed images with the mirror-up during the entire sequence?
    Yes you can; turn on AEB, delay, and then shot using live view.

    The mirror goes up with LV, after the delay the AEB sequence is shot.

    This was discussed and confirmed on Nikon forums early on when the D800's were released. I use it all the time.

  12. #12
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    800e Mirror-up


    Ah yes great, Mike, you are right. Live View does work with Self-timer: Number of shots, I wasn't aware of that.
    And thereby the Live View capture can replace the Exposure delay (with regards to avoid camera shake from the mirror slap).
    Now that's better than my above mentioned suggestion in post # 3.

    So what you do is this, right ?


    MENU button >> CUSTOM SETTING MENU >> e5 Auto bracketing set >> e.g. AE & flash >> OK
    Press the BKT button (top left) and rotate the main (back) command dial to choose the number of shots (e.g. "F3" = three EVs centered around the correct balanced exposure)
    Press the BKT button and rotate the sub-command (front) dial to choose the exposure increment, e.g. 1.0 EV)

    Set the Release Mode dial (top left) on Self-timer
    MENU button >> CUSTOM SETTING MENU >> c3 Self-timer delay e.g. 2s >> OK >> Number of shots e.g. 3 >> OK >> Interval between shots e.g. 0,5s >> OK

    Live View capture (focus and shutter release)

    .

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Hi Steen,
    That sounds about right. My D800 stays in that mode as I use it on a tripod for landscape almost exclusively. This mode is pretty inconvenient for hand held shooting (to say the least). I use Nex 5N/7 for hand held stuff.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    381
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 800e Mirror-up

    Thanks Mike, hadn't thought about live view. I will give it a try. Happy New year!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •