Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: New firmware for Canon Pro-1000 allows 17"x46" prints

  1. #1
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,262
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    New firmware for Canon Pro-1000 allows 17"x46" prints

    The Canon Pro-1000 originally printed only 17"x22". An update some years ago raised that to 17"x25", and that's been the maximum for some time. The Epson P800 handles roll media, so has always had an advantage over the Canon for panoramas.

    The newly released firmware 3.010 for the Pro-1000 increases the maximum print size to 17"x46". My first attempt had driver conflicts, but after downloading a different Canon plugin, I got it to recognize the paper size. The bottom of this print shows the earlier mistake:



    So, good news for Pro-1000 users who have been frustrated by the limited print height.

    Matt

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    5,510
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    150

    Re: New firmware for Canon Pro-1000 allows 17"x46" prints

    Or move to a town with shorter buildings...

    But I totally agree that page length can be frustrating. Especially with the first print that you don't realize that has a limit. Sometimes duct tape just will not be the ideal solution...
    Will

    http://www.hakusancreation.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  3. #3
    Senior Member Joe Colson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,332
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    36

    Re: New firmware for Canon Pro-1000 allows 17"x46" prints

    Quote Originally Posted by MGrayson View Post
    The Canon Pro-1000 originally printed only 17"x22". An update some years ago raised that to 17"x25", and that's been the maximum for some time. The Epson P800 handles roll media, so has always had an advantage over the Canon for panoramas.

    The newly released firmware 3.010 for the Pro-1000 increases the maximum print size to 17"x46". My first attempt had driver conflicts, but after downloading a different Canon plugin, I got it to recognize the paper size. The bottom of this print shows the earlier mistake:

    So, good news for Pro-1000 users who have been frustrated by the limited print height.

    Matt
    Matt, thanks for the heads-up. I've downloaded the firmware and will install it today. Which driver/plugin did you have to download to get the new firmware to work?

    Joe
    _________________________________
    Joe Colson Photography

  4. #4
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,262
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: New firmware for Canon Pro-1000 allows 17"x46" prints

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Colson View Post
    Matt, thanks for the heads-up. I've downloaded the firmware and will install it today. Which driver/plugin did you have to download to get the new firmware to work?

    Joe
    Joe,

    This is on a Mac, so the rest may or may not be relevant.

    I used to use the Canon Print Studio Pro plugin, which worked flawlessly for me for choosing paper size and type. This software has not been updated, and it would not allow paper sizes longer than 25". The "Professional Print and Layout" plugin, which is very similar to PSP, *has* been updated, and it worked the first time.

    I ran some other strange tools, like a Canon Media Updater, and that might have been a necessary part of the process, but I can't be sure. I would look at all the utilities on the same page as the firmware updater. I deleted the printer, installed latest drivers, and added the printer back. Again, not sure if that was part of getting it to work.

    Best,

    Matt
    Last edited by MGrayson; 21st November 2019 at 16:30.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  5. #5
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,262
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: New firmware for Canon Pro-1000 allows 17"x46" prints

    Quote Originally Posted by Shashin View Post
    Or move to a town with shorter buildings...
    And learn to take more interesting panoramas while I'm at it.

    But then I'll have to get a 44" wide printer and a divorce, so maybe not.

    M
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  6. #6
    Senior Member Joe Colson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,332
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    36

    Re: New firmware for Canon Pro-1000 allows 17"x46" prints

    Quote Originally Posted by MGrayson View Post
    Joe,

    This is on a Mac, so the rest may or may not be relevant.

    I used to use the Canon Print Studio Pro plugin, which worked flawlessly for me for choosing paper size and type. This software has not been updated, and it would not allow paper sizes longer than 25". The "Professional Print and Layout" plugin, which is very similar to PSP, *has* been updated, and it worked the first time.

    I ran some other strange tools, like a Canon Media Updater, and that might have been a necessary part of the process, but I can't be sure. I would look at all the utilities on the same page as the firmware updater. I deleted the printer, installed latest drivers, and added the printer back. Again, not sure if that was part of getting it to work.

    Best,

    Matt
    Matt, I use a Mac as well. I haven't used Canon Print Studio Pro and typically print using Lightroom or Photoshop. So I may have to do some experimenting to find a good firmware/software combo. Thanks.

    Joe
    _________________________________
    Joe Colson Photography

  7. #7
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,262
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: New firmware for Canon Pro-1000 allows 17"x46" prints

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Colson View Post
    Matt, I use a Mac as well. I haven't used Canon Print Studio Pro and typically print using Lightroom or Photoshop. So I may have to do some experimenting to find a good firmware/software combo. Thanks.

    Joe
    Joe,

    I have gotten excellent output from the Canon plugins - indistinguishable from QImage under a 12x loupe. If you can't get LR or PS to recognize the longer paper size, try "Professional Print and Layout" (it's free). And if you DO figure out LR and PS, please let me know how you did it!

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •