The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

What am I missing????

Jim DE

Hi all, I own Photoshop CS5 and run it on a MAC. That being said I have heard all the comments on Aperture 3 and Lightroom 3 and figured I must be missing something so I downloaded the 30 day trial of Aperture 3. Aperture 3 has a few neet tricks but as I see it it essentially is a rewrap of Adobe Bridge and camera RAW with the option to sent a shot to CS5 to edit if necessary. And it seems to have a better file management system.

I am no expert with PP digital images and have been essentially a film guy who coverts his color positives to digital in a film scanner with some basic editing also of various digital images from some of my other cameras.

Am I missing something with this Aperture 3 that can't be done in my CS5? Do you all feel that there are advantages in running both CS5 and Aperture 3. The $200 to add Aperture 3 is no big deal if it does things for me that CS5 can't but if it is just a weaker post processing version of CS5 with a file management system then I can't see wasting the money on it.

I just loaded Camera Raw 6.2 which is a beta version so I can edit Sony NEX 5 RAW images in PS CS5 and am also doing an online course to better understand CS5 and it's in's and out's.

Thanks in advance for your comments and wisdom on this issue. I will greatly appreciate your feedback.

kevinparis

Aperture and Lightroom both set out to offer in one software package, the ability to quickly capture, process, catalogue and deliver your images.