The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Apply Keyword(s) to multiple images in Capture One

mathomas

I'm (very) slowly getting my feet wet in Capture One (because Aperture has been discontinued). I have to admit it's been tough. I really didn't feel like I ever had to think very hard to use Aperture, but C1 has been a challenge, and I'm a freaking software developer for god's sake. I bought C1 because its layout is pretty similar to Aperture, the RAW imports are good, and it has a lot of useful editing controls, but I'm starting to wonder about the wisdom of this purchase for one simple reason:

I'm stumped by one of the simplest things I can think of when cataloging images -- how do I efficiently apply the same keyword, or keywords, to multiple images at once?

Oh, I realize there's a "copy/apply" feature. But that strikes me as completely broken. Is C1 really limited to that one goofy approach to applying a keyword to multiple images? If so, I'm simply astounded. I think any normal person who'd ever used software before would expect to be able to select multiple images and just type in the keyword(s) to apply to the selection.

I hope I'm wrong. If I'm not, I'll be very sad. If it had discovered this before paying nearly $300 for C1, I'd never have bought this software.

If you're wondering why I bought it if I think it handles this simple case so poorly, I guess I'd say I'd have never imagined C1 could get such a simple feature so wrong, and sadly never thought to try it while in the trial period (since in the trial period I just did a few "throwaway" sessions). It's just so basic a thing.