The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Any Hasselblad users just use Phocus and nothing else?

BigBoy

I have been using Capture One for a few years and switched to Phocus when I got my X1D. I don't edit that much. I like to capture my photos in a way with little to no editing. I'd like to know if I'm missing out on trying Lightroom and Photoshop with my Hasselblad file.

pflower

Adobe offers a demo version of both Lightroom and Photoshop so probably the best answer to your question is for you to download Lightroom at least and see what you think.

I've used Lightroom since v1 in conjunction with Photoshop. There are many who are adamant that Phocus produces the best colour from 3fff files. Certainly when I bought an H3D back in 2010 Lightroom didn't do such a good job as Phocus with saturated colours - particularly red. My understanding is that Hasselblad since then has provided Adobe with their colour science. With my X1D I think there is very little difference between a 3FR file edited in Lightroom and the 3fff file edited in Phocus and then exported as a Tiff. Others may disagree.

The potential disadvantage of only using Phocus is that you have to export as a Tiff. Storage is cheap these days so not necessarily such a disadvantage. All editing in Lightroom is non destructive - i.e. you don't have to generate a Tiff (or Jpeg) to print. Plus the snapshot element of Lightroom is hugely useful - you can make small or big edits and then just take a snapshot of them so you can try out various versions without losing whatever you did before and without having to generate a new file.