The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

The moment I have been dreading - how does a photographer pick an unknown photographer?

Massive Si

I'm getting married next year. Very happy about that
The wife-to-be is running around thrusting all kinds of 'discussions' in my direction; number of guests, venues, dates, decor and then.... we need to pick a photographer!

We're going to be married back in her home town, so its not like I can just go chat with them to check them out.
Now, I am not a professional photographer (in the sense that photography is not my main job) but I kind of know what I am doing. Which is what makes this task so much harder.

Of the 5 local (to the venue city) photographer's websites I have been shown so far, I've had issues with each.
They seem to be split into two camps:
1) All the promo wedding images are highly staged, beautifully lit and managed. Now the wife-to-be thinks that's how they'll turn out. But unless they are bringing multiple large softboxes, reflectors and skrims etc to the venue, you are going to be disappointed with our results darling.

2) awfully lit and posed images. bad use of natural light and terrible photoshopping on some

I know I am hyper sensitive to this, and I need to get over myself. But if I am dropping many thousands of $ on photos, I am going to be taking an interest.

Anyone else faced this dilemma? any advice to offer?
thanks

buildbot