The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Tech/view camera and infinity

cyron123

Hello,

i have a bloody question form an absolute beginner:

How could i focus to infinity on a tech. camera like the Linhof Techno or CS679 or Arca Swiss M-Line or Sinar something similar.

Thank you.
cyron

greygrad

Either on the groundglass with your eyes and a loupe, or by marking the infinity point for each lens in (e.g.) pencil on the bed of the camera, or by fixing an infinity stop in place for each lens, or by using live view on an IQ/IQ2 DB, or by using an iterative shoot/review process with your DB (assuming the screen is good enough).

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
One other thing-- with ANY view camera, the total bed/bellows extension has to be longer than the lens focal length to hit infinity focus, OR you have to use a tele design lens. Obviously, you need even more extension to focus closer than infinity.

I mention the above, because many new shooters will put any old LF lens they've acquired on a cam with short extension like a tech cam, and the specific combo may not reach infinity.

cyron123

Hi,
how is it possible to make markings on your rail, if you dont know if this is the infinity... I dont understand that. Sorry...
Is infinity to focus on very far away things and show on the groundglass if this is getting sharp??? Is this the workflow?
Thank you.
cyron

greygrad