Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Leica S007 compressed DNG files ?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Near Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Leica S007 compressed DNG files ?

    * Sony a7RII Compressed RAW are approximately 41 Mb
    * Sony a7RII Uncompressed RAW are approximately 81.6 Mb
    * Leica S2 DNG are approximately 75 Mb
    * Leica S007 DNG are approximately 44 Mb

    Is it a 'cmos sensor' thing ?
    Pardon my ignorance but I don't get it, why are those S007 files that 'light' ?
    (Am maybe missing a camera setting...)
    ___________________________________
    http://www.vincent-angillis.be

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S007 compressed DNG files ?

    Quote Originally Posted by anGy View Post
    * Sony a7RII Compressed RAW are approximately 41 Mb
    * Sony a7RII Uncompressed RAW are approximately 81.6 Mb
    * Leica S2 DNG are approximately 75 Mb
    * Leica S007 DNG are approximately 44 Mb

    Is it a 'cmos sensor' thing ?
    Pardon my ignorance but I don't get it, why are those S007 files that 'light' ?
    (Am maybe missing a camera setting...)
    Maybe noise takes space? just kidding. I am interested as well. Even though so far I have not heard from people seeing any problems with S007 files which could be based on compression.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S007 compressed DNG files ?

    S2 is not compressed I assume so the S-007 doesn't looks so light compared to the 41 Mb from the Sony

  4. #4
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hollywood, FL
    Posts
    580
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S007 compressed DNG files ?

    The S2 had an option for compressed or uncompressed DNG files. This led to confusion as many thought that the uncompressed files offered better quality, which was not true. The compression used in the S2 and S006 is lossless. This is easily tested by looking at the file sizes of compressed images of different subjects. They are all different. With lossy compression, the file size is always the same, regardless of subject matter.

    There is no advantage to shooting uncompressed DNG on an S. The camera shoots less frames before hitting the buffer. Images take longer to record to memory cards. Loading images into your computer take longer and the files take up unnecessary space.

    On the S007, Leica decided (smartly, I think) to reduce confusion and eliminate the choice and only store the DNGs with lossless compression.

    Make sense?
    David Farkas
    Leica Store Miami

  5. #5
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,790
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S007 compressed DNG files ?

    Quote Originally Posted by dfarkas View Post
    The S2 had an option for compressed or uncompressed DNG files. This led to confusion as many thought that the uncompressed files offered better quality, which was not true. The compression used in the S2 and S006 is lossless. This is easily tested by looking at the file sizes of compressed images of different subjects. They are all different. With lossy compression, the file size is always the same, regardless of subject matter.

    There is no advantage to shooting uncompressed DNG on an S. The camera shoots less frames before hitting the buffer. Images take longer to record to memory cards. Loading images into your computer take longer and the files take up unnecessary space.

    On the S007, Leica decided (smartly, I think) to reduce confusion and eliminate the choice and only store the DNGs with lossless compression.

    Make sense?
    Of course ...

    Nice to have your knowledge and input to this confusing issue.

    Regards,

    Bob Moore

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Near Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S007 compressed DNG files ?

    Quote Originally Posted by dfarkas View Post
    The S2 had an option for compressed or uncompressed DNG files. This led to confusion as many thought that the uncompressed files offered better quality, which was not true. The compression used in the S2 and S006 is lossless. This is easily tested by looking at the file sizes of compressed images of different subjects. They are all different. With lossy compression, the file size is always the same, regardless of subject matter.

    There is no advantage to shooting uncompressed DNG on an S. The camera shoots less frames before hitting the buffer. Images take longer to record to memory cards. Loading images into your computer take longer and the files take up unnecessary space.

    On the S007, Leica decided (smartly, I think) to reduce confusion and eliminate the choice and only store the DNGs with lossless compression.

    Make sense?
    Hi David,
    Thank you for this cristal clear explanation. Makes a lot of sense.

    I currently have issues with my S007 (lines of hot pixels fully crossing the sensor). I first has only 1 corrupted line (always the same). Now I have 3. Sometimes on just 1 photo (photo #2 on a set of 12), sometimes on several pictures during a same shoot.
    It looks like a mapping issue, or maybe corrupted data during compression of the file, I don't know, just speculating as I'm still waiting for the Leica support to wake-up...
    ___________________________________
    http://www.vincent-angillis.be

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Reykjavik, Iceland
    Posts
    2,310
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Leica S007 compressed DNG files ?

    Quote Originally Posted by anGy View Post
    Hi David,
    Thank you for this cristal clear explanation. Makes a lot of sense.

    I currently have issues with my S007 (lines of hot pixels fully crossing the sensor). I first has only 1 corrupted line (always the same). Now I have 3. Sometimes on just 1 photo (photo #2 on a set of 12), sometimes on several pictures during a same shoot.
    It looks like a mapping issue, or maybe corrupted data during compression of the file, I don't know, just speculating as I'm still waiting for the Leica support to wake-up...
    That is a classic issue...one broken pixel causing a whole line a pixels to misbehave. If you call Leica or your dealer they will be able to help you. You might not need to send the camera in...not sure how Leica is handling it now. The fix is to map it out, as you guessed.
    My photos are here: http://www.stuartrichardson.com and more recent work here: http://stuartrichardson.tumblr.com/ Please have a look at my book!
    My lab is here: http://www.customphotolab.is and on facebook

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •