Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    270
    Post Thanks / Like

    Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Hi Guys,

    Yesterday I upgraded my IQ with the newest firmware and today I had a photoshoot.

    I am having a problem that I never experience before.

    When you double tap the preview image to get full screen, when you slide the image for preview, sometimes you get half image missing, only the corner of the image shown or even a mirror image of the same image.

    Examples:





    Have anyone else experience this problem?


    Thanks,
    Dan

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    There is an option to revert to the previous firmware.. Just an idea worth trying if you have a problem.

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    I have not seen that issue with any IQ in our inventory or heard from any customers with that issue.

    On any issue like this I'd call your dealer. We (the forum) can certainly help, but half the advice will be well-intended-but-wrong and all the advice will come somewhat piecemail. Working with your dealer by phone (or in person) means you can easily step through a series of troubleshooting steps based on the results of each step.

    Here are some of the questions I would think your dealer would want to know the answers to:
    Did you follow the instructions to remove the back from the body before updating the firmware? Were there any error messages during the firmware update? Were you running 2.x before the update to 3.x or did you upgrade directly to 3.0 from a lower firmware version? Did it do this right away? Does it do it all the time or just some of the time? Was it like this from immediately after the update or did it only start happening at some point after the update?

    If you don't have a dealer you can easily reach on the weekend here are a few troubleshooting steps you might try (listed in no particular order):
    - reverting to the previous firmware
    - restoring defaults
    - reformatting your CF card
    - trying a different CF card
    - re-installing the firmware
    - restarting the back
    - trying a different battery*

    Since you're the first person to have this issue as far as I know it's hard to say for sure, but my gut feeling is the CF card (compatibility issue or improper formatting) is the most likely culprit. Major improvements were made to the CF read/write in this firmware. But that is just a guess.

    In general I don't suggest updating firmware right before a shoot; especially with Phase One I've found very few glitches with firmware updates, but of all the backs out there it's inevitable that there will be at least one - and Moore's law is it will be one that is about to be used in a shoot!

    *yes I know this one is a long shot, but then again your problem is not an issue I'm aware of with anyone else, and I'm always willing to accept strange answers to unique problems. For instance if your battery is damaged/deficient/inconsistent it could effect the graphics board under 3.0 firmware but not cause issues in 2.0 firmware. Though to be clear this is one of the least likely explanations I could think of.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  4. #4
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,575
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpeterson View Post
    In general I don't suggest updating firmware right before a shoot; especially with Phase One I've found very few glitches with firmware updates, but of all the backs out there it's inevitable that there will be at least one - and Moore's law is it will be one that is about to be used in a shoot!
    I think you mean Murphy. Moore's is the one about the exponential increase in computer speed and capacity.

    --Matt

  5. #5
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Matt's Law states that if you know two laws named after individuals whose names both start with "M" then you'll mix them up every time.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    270
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Thanks I will try your suggestion before I talk to my dealer.

  7. #7
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Just a heads up but you need to be sure to check the firmware 3.00.19 supported CF card list as I found a VERY nasty problem with backwards compatibility with at least the Hoodman Professional 300x UDMA 16GB cards. These are $300 premium cards that have been utterly reliable for me with the P series and up until 3.00.19 also with the IQ160. However, if you use these cards, which are not on the latest supported CF card list, you WILL lose the last image in a shoot when you power off the IQ back. Of course, I found this out in the field after filling my normal Lexar 600x 32GB cards (which are on the list) and then using my Hoodmans which I didn't think to test with this firmware since they've always worked fine.

    Anyway, here's a video of what you might have happen:

    Video of problem with Hoodman RAW:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/25328800/IQ1...manRAW16GB.mp4

    Video of same procedure with Lexar Pro 600x 32GB:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/25328800/IQ160LexarPro32GB.mp4

    I had opened a case with Phase One but they need to add this card to their unsupported list since it's somewhat more than just "not supported by default" but actually should be "DO NOT USE" unless there's a firmware fix in the future.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    What's new in this firmware. I saw it this morning with the 6.4 download but have yet to look at it.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Graham is referring to a problem in the 3.0 firmware. The full version number is 3.00.19.

    Indeed, I haven't seen this anywhere else or with other cards regarding the IQ and 3.0 firmware. But it's a good rule of thumb after a firmware update (including Canon/Nikon) to do a quick test specifically for each card you have, or in the very least each TYPE of card you have. Format, take a few shots, review them, bring them onto the computer and make sure they open.

    You can skip this (though I still like to take a test run after any firmware update to check for general issues) if you're using cards that are on Phase's specifically tested list. This is one reason why I like buying only SanDisk from the list of supported cards; P1 does their firmware R+D primarily on SanDisk cards (to a lesser extent Lexar cards) and it's thereby extremely rare they have any compatibility issues with SanDisk.

    PLEASE let us know if you've had any issues similar to this (though it only counts if you formatted the card in the back prior to using it - otherwise all bets are off). For now this is the only instance I've heard of.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    270
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    The one I had issues was with 32G San Disk Extreme. I had no problem with my Lexar.

    In my last 3 shoots I think I encountered the same problem above once. I think it is a bug in the firmware.

  11. #11
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Just loaded using a Sandisk Extreme Pro 32gb card seems okay
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  12. #12
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Just need to be careful with making sure your card is on the list. The supported list is here:
    Camera systems and image software

    Your Sandisk Extreme Pro is on the list so you should be fine.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  13. #13
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Yea just shot about 50 shots in the backyard playing with some lenses.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  14. #14
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Problem after upgrading IQ to 3.00.19

    Whilst I can't claim to be happy about the fact that a significant $$$ in my CF cards aren't supported I do very much appreciate the responsiveness of Phase One to update their supported (or not) media list.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •