Site Sponsors

Thread: Leica S2 question

Post Thanks / Like

Question Leica S2 question

Hello All,

This is my first post on GetDPI, albeit I have been lurking for quite some time.

I am a landscape photographer and currently shoot a D800E. I would greatly appreciate if you could help me understand the difference between the S2 and D800E as it relates to depth of field. In order to help me, please consider the following example. For simplicity, please consider the resolution of the D800E and S2 identical:

The S2 has a larger sensor than the D800E and therefore a longer focal length is required to achieve the same field of view. All else being equal, depth of field will be less for the former than the latter because of this.

However, given that the larger sensor in the S2 has an identical number of pixels as the D800E, pixel size is greater for the former than the latter. Therefore, some, if not all of the reduction in depth of field can be reclaimed by stopping down the S2 without the same penalty from diffraction. My first question to you is: can the reduction in depth of field be reclaimed fully, and if not, by how much can it be reclaimed until the effect of diffraction is equal?

Continuing on the (possibly false) assumption that depth of field can be reclaimed fully, the same image printed to the same size from the S2 requires less enlargement than that from the D800E because its sensor is larger. My understanding is that the greater the enlargement, the greater the reduction in perceived depth of field when viewed from the same distance. Hence, I am left concluding that an identical image from the S2 has greater depth of field than that from a D800E. I am fairly confident that I am mistaken on this, but do not know where the error is. Hence, my second question to you is: please can someone explain?

Cheers,

Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: Leica S2 question