Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: WiFi used with a Tech Camera

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    WiFi used with a Tech Camera

    Hello :

    Here is a question just for my understanding -

    With the introduction of the Phase One IQ 2xx can an iPad/iPhone be used to trigger a capture on a Tech Camera such as an Alpa ? OR would the only way would be to physically press the shutter release on the camera and review the image on an iPad/iPhone - Kindly confirm.



    Jai
    Jai Vora • jaivora.com • +91 982-136-0044

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: WiFi used with a Tech Camera

    I don't think so since you can't do that currently through C1 either. You still have to cock the shutter and fire. Certainly on a DF, and I can image on an Alpa FPS aswell.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: WiFi used with a Tech Camera

    No need to cock the shutter on the FPS.

    The FPS has a connection for firing the shutter (I use this connection with my Seitz VR Drive so that the Seitz fires the shutter automatically when shooting a panorama).

    I can't imagine it would be that difficult technically to have a wireless trigger on the same network as the back and iPad.

    Alternatively, perhaps this wouldn't even be necessary if the wired connection between the IQ and the FPS could be used to send a trigger signal from the back to the camera?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    118
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: WiFi used with a Tech Camera

    Only if you use the rodenstock lenses with electronic shutters.
    Amr

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: WiFi used with a Tech Camera

    Quote Originally Posted by aeaemd View Post
    Only if you use the rodenstock lenses with electronic shutters.
    Amr
    Nope, any lens mounted to the FPS can use the FPS's focal plane shutter - you don't need to use the leaf shutter in a tech lens.

    Regards,

    Gerald.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Stefan Steib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lindenberg im Allgäu
    Posts
    1,294
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: WiFi used with a Tech Camera

    We can use a remote radio control/Timer/trigger on our HCam-B1.
    So you can release the camera and if the back is WiFi connected to a receiving computer (with C1) you can shot remotely with full comfort.

    Greetings from Germany

    Stefan
    because photography is more than technology - and " as we have done this all the time "
    facebook:hcam.de - www.hcam.de - www.hartblei.de

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •