The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Hasselblad Flextight X5 to MFD Scanning?

tbullock

A few years ago I was fortunate enough to buy an X5 scanner. I'm an amateur photographer, so this was perhaps overkill, but it has been a great way to *quickly* scan most everything I shoot on film to 3F format and archive it. I don't use it much: 10-20 rolls a year currently; but I also occasionally shoot 4x5 film and thought that I'd keep this thing forever. It does everything from 35mm to LF well, including reflective stuff, and it does it quickly.

However, the X5 sensor is dated, I worry about moving it, I am unsure of future support from Hasselblad, it's expensive, and depreciating. So I've been considering a switch to a single capture system using a high res digital camera. I have looked at many solutions, including many DIY systems. In my latest round of research I came across this from Pentax: PENTAX Film Duplicator (with Mount Holder 24x36) - RICOH IMAGING EUROPE S.A.S

My thinking is that I could pair this duplicator and its seemingly well thought out holders with a CFV-50c, H1D, Fuji GFX, or a Sony for about the same or less value as my scanner, while also then having a great camera system. The resolution of the X5 on medium format film is 3000dpi, giving a file of around 8300x7000, which is very close to the 50mp Sony cropped MF sensor. Sony's sensor also has 13-14 stops, which is *close* to the claimed X5 DMax of 4.9 if I understand that correctly. I assume it's even closer to the realistic DMax.

Does this sound like it could work as well as an X5 for occasional digitizing? More specifically: