The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Need help investing into the Hasselblad system.

Dear All,

Hope you are having a wonderful weekend. I need some help. I am a Portrait photographer (my work can be found on on my website and I shoot environmental portraits on location mainly and that too at a shallow depth of field - like f/2.2, f/2.8 etc.
I am exploring a few options which are as follows (All used equipment):
  • Hasselblad H5D-60 with a 110mm f/2.2 lens at about 8500 Euros. The camera has undergone about 2500 exposures, the lens slightly lesser than that.
  • A used H5D-40 with a 80mm f/2.8 lens at about 4500 Euros - I am yet to get info on the total number of exposures on the camera.
  • A used H5D-50c with a 80mm f/2.8 lens (3 years old about 35-40K exposures) - I still have to negotiate the price with the owner

I have a few questions that will help me decide on this and I need your help based on your buying experience:
  • What are your thoughts on the price for the H5D-60?
  • Which camera would you choose for my type of work and why?
  • How many actuations do the shutters last for in the 80mm lens?
  • How many mirror actuations does the H5D body last for? The Nikon D850 for e.g. has a tested shutter life of 250K exposures.
  • What would be a good price for the H5D-50C?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Best regards,
Ray

richardman

For environmental portraits, the CMOS sensor in the -50C will give you so much flexibility that nothing else matters.

dave.gt

Absolutely great advice!