Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 32 of 32

Thread: Canon TS-E on X1D?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    520
    Post Thanks / Like

    Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Is there an adapter that would effectively allow the Canon 17 and 24mm TS-E to be used on the X1D? Is the image circle large enough?

  2. #2
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,222
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    I use the techart adapter and 24 TS-E. Works perfectly, subject to ES limitations. The IC is almost large enough for full shifts. Some corner clipping at the extremes.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  3. #3
    Member CAMBOUSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    149
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by cerett View Post
    Is there an adapter that would effectively allow the Canon 17 and 24mm TS-E to be used on the X1D? Is the image circle large enough?
    We have our CA-XCD adapter as well

    Name:  CA-XCD_w.jpg
Views: 1124
Size:  52.4 KB

    https://www.cambo.com/en/other/canon-users/ca-xcd/

    The Canon TS-E lenses can also be used (with some movement limitations) on our Actus-XCD with the appropriate lens-board.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    360
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    The techart adapter also works fine with the new Canon 50mm TS-E.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    520
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by MGrayson View Post
    I use the techart adapter and 24 TS-E. Works perfectly, subject to ES limitations. The IC is almost large enough for full shifts. Some corner clipping at the extremes.
    I assume you are referring to the Techart PRO Autofocus Adapter. Does it reliably transfer all EXIF data to the X1D? Are there any clearance issues with regards to the tilt or shift functions? Have you tried autofocus on other Canon lenses? Thank you.

  6. #6
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,222
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by cerett View Post
    I assume you are referring to the Techart PRO Autofocus Adapter. Does it reliably transfer all EXIF data to the X1D? Are there any clearance issues with regards to the tilt or shift functions? Have you tried autofocus on other Canon lenses? Thank you.
    Yes.
    Focal length and aperture, yes. The lens info says HC80.
    Not with shift. Haven’t tried tilt. But the adapter is long enough that the lens is well clear of the body.
    A few, but why would I use smaller IC lenses on an X1D?
    Last edited by MGrayson; 29th June 2019 at 05:39.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by MGrayson View Post
    Yes.
    No idea. Focal length and aperture, yes.
    Not with shift. Havenít tried tilt. But the adapter is long enough that the lens is well clear of the body.
    A few, but why would I use smaller IC lenses on an X1D?
    Not all Canon lenses have small image circles.

    As an example, the 85/1.2 very nearly covers FF MFDB.



    IIRC, the 40mm pancake covers the entire sensor. There will be more as well Iím sure.
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  8. #8
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,222
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by gerald.d View Post
    Not all Canon lenses have small image circles.

    As an example, the 85/1.2 very nearly covers FF MFDB.
    That's true, but a lens designer is not going to be concerned with image quality outside the designed IC. Of course, I tried the 85/1.2, but I have version I, which is not the greatest lens at AF anyway. It produces a unique signature, especially for such a large sensor, but I find the Leica 100/2 already too shallow for portraits when wide open.

    Between the Leica S and X1D lenses, Tilt/shift was the only thing missing. I always prefer native lenses when they are available. Adapters are unpredictable, and cameras freeze up. The worst I've had (so far) with the techart has been ignored shutter presses. I sometimes have to press two or three times to get it to make an exposure.

    Matt

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    520
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by MGrayson View Post
    Yes.
    Focal length and aperture, yes. The lens info says HC80.
    Not with shift. Havenít tried tilt. But the adapter is long enough that the lens is well clear of the body.
    A few, but why would I use smaller IC lenses on an X1D?
    Thanks, but why would it say "HC80" if using a Canon lens? Also, may i ask where you purchased yours?

  10. #10
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,222
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by cerett View Post
    Thanks, but why would it say "HC80" if using a Canon lens? Also, may i ask where you purchased yours?
    No idea, but since the 80mm is the typical "kit lens" with the 500 and H-series, perhaps they chose it as the default.

    I purchased directly from Techart.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    520
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by MGrayson View Post
    No idea, but since the 80mm is the typical "kit lens" with the 500 and H-series, perhaps they chose it as the default.

    I purchased directly from Techart.
    I don't want to belabor the point, but if the adapter reads the exif data properly (as it should), it would detect a Canon lens and the focal length. The adapter is not cheap ($500) and should work properly. What have others experienced?

  12. #12
    Member CAMBOUSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    149
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by gerald.d View Post
    Not all Canon lenses have small image circles.

    As an example, the 85/1.2 very nearly covers FF MFDB.
    The other thing to be aware of here is the 85 1.2 and 50 1.2 are both focus by wire, so unless they are attached to a Canon body you are having to focus with your legs.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by CAMBOUSA View Post
    The other thing to be aware of here is the 85 1.2 and 50 1.2 are both focus by wire, so unless they are attached to a Canon body you are having to focus with your legs.
    There are FD mount manual focus versions of these lenses, and I believe a Novoflex adapter that will allow their mounting to the X1D, no?

    (/edit - as a general aside, but not relevant to the X1D, it is not true to say that the EF focus by wire lenses can only be focused when attached to a Canon body. There are other options available - such as those from ALPA - that allow their use with digital backs on technical cameras. It’s how I took the photo shared earlier.)

  14. #14
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,222
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by CAMBOUSA View Post
    The other thing to be aware of here is the 85 1.2 and 50 1.2 are both focus by wire, so unless they are attached to a Canon body you are having to focus with your legs.
    I just shot a few frames with the EOS 85/1.2L v.1 on the X1D with the Techart TCX-01 adapter. AF worked perfectly, if not quickly. I could manually focus, with magnified assist. And set f/stop from the camera. The corners look pretty good. I'm surprised!

    The 85/1.2 is not really a walk around lens, but it's definitely unique. I suppose the Sigma 105/1.4 and Canikon 200/2 are more extreme, but not by much!

    Matt
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by MGrayson View Post
    I just shot a few frames with the EOS 85/1.2L v.1 on the X1D with the Techart TCX-01 adapter. AF worked perfectly, if not quickly. I could manually focus, with magnified assist. And set f/stop from the camera. The corners look pretty good. I'm surprised!

    The 85/1.2 is not really a walk around lens, but it's definitely unique. I suppose the Sigma 105/1.4 and Canikon 200/2 are more extreme, but not by much!

    Matt
    Great to have an adapter available that can provide the power to these lenses.

    Re other options, donít forget there is the Canon 200/1.8 as well
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    520
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by MGrayson View Post
    I just shot a few frames with the EOS 85/1.2L v.1 on the X1D with the Techart TCX-01 adapter. AF worked perfectly, if not quickly. I could manually focus, with magnified assist. And set f/stop from the camera. The corners look pretty good. I'm surprised!

    The 85/1.2 is not really a walk around lens, but it's definitely unique. I suppose the Sigma 105/1.4 and Canikon 200/2 are more extreme, but not by much!

    Matt
    That is very nice to know. For me, use of the Canon TS-Es (17 and 24) is most important and worth the price of the adapter. Actually, don't own an X1D, but have preordered the X1DII.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    360
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    The Techart AF Canon EOS Adapters are very clever devices at a rather high price. Kipon and Fotodiox are also offerikng similar adapters for the Fuji GFX and now that the new X1D II is available, these folks will probably support it. Most of the adapters have some means of firmware upgrades. It is important to realize that these devices are reverse engineered so please do not expect "perfect" performance for all Canon Lenses. In general the AF is slower than that Canon AF speeds and sometimes the EXIF data is incorrect. This doesn't bother me since I am not interested in AF performance of Canon Lenses on my X1D - I only need control of the Canon Electronic aperture of my TS-E lenses. The price of these adapters may drop as the competition increases - currently the Techart adapter can be purchased for around $425 on E-bay.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    222
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    does somebody has samples for me- 17mm and 24mm. How is the workflow with this adapter?

    best michael

  19. #19
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,222
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by gmfotografie View Post
    does somebody has samples for me- 17mm and 24mm. How is the workflow with this adapter?

    best michael
    Posted elsewhere, but... X1D, 24 TS-E, f/11, 1/640 sec, ISO 100, 8mm shift? 10mm? Not sure. Handheld. Since the Canon is a manual focus lens, it works exactly the same on the X1D. Set aperture and exposure on camera, focus and shift with lens. Use electronic shutter.



    Matt
    Last edited by MGrayson; 3rd July 2019 at 15:34.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 3 Member(s) liked this post

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    222
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    thx .... the 24mm on the dslr - fullframe gives us about 17mm on the x1d - is it correct?

    will be great if there is an option where i can crop the image in the liveview... mybe with the new version x1d2 and the phocus ipad connection.

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    360
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    I use the Techart Adapter with the X1D using the 17, 24-II and the new 50mm Canon TS-E Lenses. Not much shifting possible on the 17mm, 8mm or so with the 24-II and full shift on the 50mm. Has Canon released their new 35mm TS-E yet?
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  22. #22
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,222
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by gmfotografie View Post
    thx .... the 24mm on the dslr - fullframe gives us about 17mm on the x1d - is it correct?

    will be great if there is an option where i can crop the image in the liveview... mybe with the new version x1d2 and the phocus ipad connection.
    I think of it as 19mm, but with a different aspect ratio, it's impossible to be precise.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    520
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by fotophil View Post
    I use the Techart Adapter with the X1D using the 17, 24-II and the new 50mm Canon TS-E Lenses. Not much shifting possible on the 17mm, 8mm or so with the 24-II and full shift on the 50mm. Has Canon released their new 35mm TS-E yet?
    What is the problem with shift on the 17mm? Does the adapter get in the way?

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by cerett View Post
    What is the problem with shift on the 17mm? Does the adapter get in the way?
    I believe it runs out of image circle.

  25. #25
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,222
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    It's surprising how effective the 24 TS-E is. Here is a comparison of the FoV of the 21mm XCD vs. the 24 shifted 8mm:



    Kind of impressive, given the extreme FoV of the 21mm.

    Matt
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  26. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    222
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    One drawback is that i cannot use a flash with the TSE24mm on the X1D ... I need this very often for interiors.

  27. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    222
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    can anybody tell me if the new x1d2 works with the actual techart adapter?

    thx

  28. #28
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by gmfotografie View Post
    can anybody tell me if the new x1d2 works with the actual techart adapter?

    thx
    Yes it works, but You will need the latest Firmware 3.0 which I found under:
    http://stkb.co.jp/support.html#tcx-01

    best regards
    Wolfram
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  29. #29
    Senior Member drunkenspyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    553
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by strohscw View Post
    Yes it works, but You will need the latest Firmware 3.0 which I found under:
    ???? & ??????/????

    best regards
    Wolfram
    Thanks for this link. Would have loved to have this just a few days earlier. As it was, 2.2 worked well enough to get some shots. Would be nice if this firmware was also located on the techartpro website.

    Anyone know if there is a reliable way to confirm that the firmware was correctly installed? I always feel like I am operating blind with the TAP software.

  30. #30
    Senior Member drunkenspyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    553
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    Quote Originally Posted by Doppler9000 View Post
    I believe it runs out of image circle.
    Yes, but not by much. I get several degrees of shift before I get hard vignette. And rotating the lens for multiple angle shifts produces some impressive, if distortion-prone, results. Overall, I still prefer the Nikon 19PC with the Hassy, but there is no adapter offering aperture control which, in technical terms, is a real bummer.

  31. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    222
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    is there any possibility to use the flash with this system - x1d2 with techart 24mm tse and flash?

  32. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    222
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on X1D?

    by the way i cannot open the file on my mac http://stkb.co.jp/support.html#tcx-01

    any suggestions?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •