The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Nikon 2020 Q2 Financials

Darin Marcus

Nikon just released their financial report for the second quarter of their 2020 fiscal year.
For those interested, the presentation material can be accessed at https://www.nikon.com/about/ir/ir_library/result/pdf/2021/21second_all_e.pdf

I am not a financial expert, but I still found a few interesting things in it. For example, as Thom Hogan noted on his blog today, Nikon appears to change focus more and more towards pro/hobbyist photographers. The graphic on slide 25 shows that over 70% of their imaging products target this category of customers during this fiscal year, with the sales ratio expected to increase significantly starting next year, and going over 90% in fiscal year 2023!

I think this will have a big impact not only on the number of cameras/lenses that they expect to sell in the future, but also on the type of cameras/lenses that they will produce - more high end, less consumer, probably less exotic and more to address the needs of the working pros (although hobbyists may want some interesting designs and features).

On slide 37 they appear to expect R&D costs to remain constant for the next FY, but the R&D/revenue ratio to increase. However, the amount of R&D funds allocated to the imaging products division will decrease during the next FY (2021)...

Finally, on slide 39, they expect to sell more imaging products during the next quarter, but then to sell even less during the following 3 quarters than during Q2 2020.