The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Unscientific but interesting: AR7, RX1, D800, M240

Tim, I have always had the same assumption as you in that the camera white balance setting didn't matter if shooting raw and white balance is corrected in the raw conversion software. Your preliminary test seem to bear this out. My own experience has been similar as I have never had any problem correcting white balance to my satisfaction in post (except when using a Lee Big Stopper filter). I am far from an expert in these matters so what is acceptable to me may not be acceptable for someone else.

I admit that Jono's comment, or rather my understanding of his comment, about the camera WB setting causing a bias for the raw editing software sure got me thinking about the possibility he is right. I appreciate your efforts in testing this out. I don't have an opportunity to do the testing myself right now.

tashley

Subscriber Member