Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: AFDII questions

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    74
    Post Thanks / Like

    AFDII questions

    Hi all,
    I have recently purchased an AFDII body to use with a P45 back. Does anyone know how to tell what firmware version the body has? Also, does any version of the firmware allow Auto Exposure Bracketing with more than 1 stop range? I was very surprised to find this limitation. Does the AFDIII have this limitation?

    thx
    Scott H

  2. #2
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: AFDII questions

    Hey Scott,

    Go to the Mamiya website and download the instruction manual PDF. You'll have to have it at some point!

  3. #3
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by smhoer View Post
    Hi all,
    I have recently purchased an AFDII body to use with a P45 back. Does anyone know how to tell what firmware version the body has? Also, does any version of the firmware allow Auto Exposure Bracketing with more than 1 stop range? I was very surprised to find this limitation. Does the AFDIII have this limitation?

    thx
    Scott H
    http://www.mamiya.com/645afd-ii-more...functions.html
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    51
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by smhoer View Post
    Hi all,
    I have recently purchased an AFDII body to use with a P45 back. Does anyone know how to tell what firmware version the body has? Also, does any version of the firmware allow Auto Exposure Bracketing with more than 1 stop range? I was very surprised to find this limitation. Does the AFDIII have this limitation?

    thx
    Scott H


    Scott:

    The firmware version is 1.4. To see what version you have select CF and go to 36. Press /= button and the version will display. Below that will be the lens firmware version.



    Chris Snipes
    Image Production, Inc
    Phase One Resller
    Phase One Test Studio

    www.imageproduction.com
    [email protected]

  5. #5
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: AFDII questions

    I have version 1.4 on my Phase/AFDIII body and the improvements made are very nice. If you do not have it on that body than I would see about getting it updated through Mamiya or if you purchased from a Phase dealer.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  6. #6
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Digitalcameraman View Post
    Scott:

    The firmware version is 1.4. To see what version you have select CF and go to 36. Press /= button and the version will display. Below that will be the lens firmware version.

    Chris Snipes
    Image Production, Inc
    Phase One Resller
    Phase One Test Studio

    www.imageproduction.com
    [email protected]
    Don't mind Chris, he is confusing the AFD II with the AFD III. On the AFD III you can check the firmware version via the custom function as he describes.

    With the AFD II, if you're in the US, you'll need to call MAC Group at 914.347.3300 and ask for the Mamiya Repair and Service Department. Most likely Rita will answer the phone. If you give her your serial number she can let you know if it requires a firmware update (there are only two versions of the AFD II firmware) and if so can assist you with the shipping instructions.

    P.S. Why isn't your dealer taking care of this for you?

    Doug Peterson, Head of Technical Services
    Capture Integration, Phase One & Canon Dealer | Personal Portfolio

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    74
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: AFDII questions

    Can you tell me if the Phase One body can take AEB shots at more than a one stop range? The AFDII does not according to the instruction book. One stop limited range on AEB works for film but is kind of ridiculous for digital if you want to do blending on landscapes

    Doug, thanks. I am working with Chris on a mount swap to a Mamiya mount on a P45. He started the search the day after Thanksgiving and Phase is still looking for one to swap with me. Evidently there are none in the US available. I am hoping they find one soon. I am going to Moab/Canyonlands during new years and the California coast soon after that. My H mount is currently an expensive paperweight.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    51
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    Don't mind Chris, he is confusing the AFD II with the AFD III. On the AFD III you can check the firmware version via the custom function as he describes.

    With the AFD II, if you're in the US, you'll need to call MAC Group at 914.347.3300 and ask for the Mamiya Repair and Service Department. Most likely Rita will answer the phone. If you give her your serial number she can let you know if it requires a firmware update (there are only two versions of the AFD II firmware) and if so can assist you with the shipping instructions.

    P.S. Why isn't your dealer taking care of this for you?

    Doug Peterson, Head of Technical Services
    Capture Integration, Phase One & Canon Dealer | Personal Portfolio

    Sorry I for some reason thought this was AFDII. What do you expect only one shot of espresso at that time I responded.


    Give me a break


    Chris Snipes
    Image Production, Inc
    Phase One Resller
    Phase One Test Studio Florida

    www.imageproduction.com
    [email protected]

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: AFDII questions

    Yea it takes me at least 2 to even start the engine. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Digitalcameraman View Post
    Sorry I for some reason thought this was AFDII. What do you expect only one shot of espresso at that time I responded.
    Chris, it was a question on the AFDII -- the "I" key on your keyboard must be sticky or maybe you better grab that *3*rd espresso!

    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: AFDII questions

    As I have been told by a fellow photographer who spoke directly with Mamiya, AFDII bodies with GG or later serial number are current. Earlier serial numbers can be updated with new firmware by sending it to Mamiya USA. Only 2 firmware versions total for the AFDII. Phone number provided in earlier post, and yes Rita does answer the phone as when I have called about sending my AFD in for focus calibration.

  12. #12
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by smhoer View Post
    Can you tell me if the Phase One body can take AEB shots at more than a one stop range?
    To my knowledge it is only 1 stop, so the work-around is do the brackets the old way -- manually
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    74
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: AFDII questions

    I guess manually it is. I do a lot of HDR and stitching so the idea of doing it manually adds the chance of slight movement to the body which makes the HDR and stitching difficult later. I am surprised the limit is 1 stop for a body made for digital.

  14. #14
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by schweikert View Post
    As I have been told by a fellow photographer who spoke directly with Mamiya, AFDII bodies with GG or later serial number are current. Earlier serial numbers can be updated with new firmware by sending it to Mamiya USA. Only 2 firmware versions total for the AFDII. Phone number provided in earlier post, and yes Rita does answer the phone as when I have called about sending my AFD in for focus calibration.
    Good additional information. The call is needed prior to sending in a pre-GG serial number though if the unit was used, as the previous owner may have already had the firmware update done.

    Doug

    Doug Peterson, Head of Technical Services
    Capture Integration, Phase One & Canon Dealer | Personal Portfolio

  15. #15
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by smhoer View Post
    Doug, thanks. I am working with Chris on a mount swap to a Mamiya mount on a P45. He started the search the day after Thanksgiving and Phase is still looking for one to swap with me. Evidently there are none in the US available. I am hoping they find one soon. I am going to Moab/Canyonlands during new years and the California coast soon after that. My H mount is currently an expensive paperweight.
    Yep, the M mounts are selling like hot-cakes. We sent out an advisory to our newsletter list that we had the last three P45M Refurbs in the US in this newsletter on 11/12. All three went fast.

    Hopefully Chris will Snipe one for you. If not, the P45+ is being pushed as Phase's big end-of-the-year option, so a lot of special programs are being offered.

    Are you headed to Moab with the January Moab GetDPI workshop? If so I'll see you there (I'm going to be there as a very grateful guest teacher of Capture One 4.5 Pro), and I'll have a P65+ and a P45+ Infrared for you to play with.

    Doug Peterson, Head of Technical Services
    Capture Integration, Phase One & Canon Dealer | Personal Portfolio

  16. #16
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Yea it takes me at least 2 to even start the engine. LOL
    Wonderful. Now I have Cool The Engines stuck in my head.

    It's Café con leche here on South Beach which get's me going.

    Doug Peterson, Head of Technical Services
    Capture Integration, Phase One & Canon Dealer | Personal Portfolio

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    74
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: AFDII questions

    Thanks Doug. I will be in Moab/Canyonlands with another photographer friend. We are going to spend a few days in that area, try the north rim (if the road is open) for a sunrise and sunset, then hit different spot going down to Phoenix before flying home. Would love to see the P65+ but worried my credit card will melt in my pocket. One day.....

  18. #18
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    carstenw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    2,530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: AFDII questions

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    It's Café con leche here on South Beach which get's me going.
    In English this is called Lecherous Coffee, please.
    Carsten - Website

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •