Site Sponsors
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 51 to 78 of 78

Thread: New Phamiya firmware?

  1. #51
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Jack,
    Yup,
    MUP works exactly that way.
    AF dot and exposure lock brackets stay illuminated at mup.
    It still needs two shutter presses, one for mup, second to trigger the self timer.
    Self timer mode and setting survives both a camera on-off cycle as well as a one minute battery removal.
    Shutter latency is a bit better I think.
    Instead of the camera taking a long breath before firing, it now takes a very short breath.
    If they shave just a bit more off the shutter lag it will seem near instantaneous. Part of the issue I have found is the fairly long shutter release movement between full up and shutter release. I think that if they shorten up the physical throw a bit, the shutter latency will seem shorter still.
    -bob

    p.s.
    I actually haven't tested post mup exposure sensitivity through the eyepiece yet, but I suspect that the exposure lock indicator might actually mean that it it really locked.

  2. #52
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Sounds very good Bob , they must have done something to get to 1.4 for release. That is good news and the turn time is great. Looking forward to sending mine in for these improvements.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #53
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    If there was something than it was a day or two apart so most likely no one got 1.3 and they may have actually fixed something else real quick because Jack did bring something up in a tele-conference on Wednesday. I forget what it was though.
    May have been the absence of manual focus confirm dot I mentioned I noted in 1.2, and possibly they had not caught it for 1.3 and did a quick fix to correct it for a 1.4?
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  4. #54
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Sounds logical to me Jack , I do remember you bringing it up on Wednesday. i think it is very pro active of Phase to make that quick change before it hits the streets and 48 turn time sure makes this a good choice on what i bought.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  5. #55
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    I doubt that is possible given sw turn-around times.

    I bet it was in the works.
    -bob

  6. #56
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    you guys are starting to sound like fan boyz..

  7. #57
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterA View Post
    you guys are starting to sound like fan boyz..
    Speaking for myself, just excited about getting a few of the nits finally fixed

    Cheers,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  8. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    I forgot the ..

  9. #59
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterA View Post
    you guys are starting to sound like fan boyz..
    No but it is in my hand a lot and just want to put on my old shoes and work. So if everything is in order than it makes it a lot easier.. Shot all morning and have a several more gigs this week than goes in for new shoe laces. Shutter lag bugs me so this will help that now.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #60
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    No but it is in my hand a lot and just want to put on my old shoes and work. So if everything is in order than it makes it a lot easier.. Shot all morning and have a several more gigs this week than goes in for new shoe laces. Shutter lag bugs me so this will help that now.
    love the analogy re shoes...

    I am still comparing this versus that in Hasselblad and PhaMiya - least amount of lag? Alpa, second least Mamiya RZ...and the lag isnt consistent or present all the time either - be it in single or continuous aotofocus mode or Manual either ...

  11. #61
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Peter it is supposed to have gotten much better and to be honest about the only real nit pick i have. The other is the 55mm it just hunts some and it does not have the MF /Af control on the lens and that bugs me but it is a good lens. Waiting on the new 45 D to replace it and the 35mm since I have the 28mm now. Have to see if the shutter lag is improved . Bob mentioned it is and i trust his judgement. The only other body i liked was the Hassy but the grip combo of back bugged me some. I like the DSLR feel better and the Sinar HY6 was the worst in feel and controls for me. Now the S2 coming would fit me well since I like that style but have to see how that measures up next year. Honestly if they don't feel good in your hands than there worthless because it never feels good to you and you think about the camera instead of what your supposed to be thinking about the image. It comes back to the old pair of shoes. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  12. #62
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Guy - I reckon it is all so personal - truth be told we could take the best bits from each system and end up with teh best system - but which bits ..from which system?? !! LOL

  13. #63
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Fact is, I think we've all gotten pretty dang spoiled. 20 years ago I wouldn't have dreamed I could do with a camera what I'm doing today, yet I am definitely complaining more about what it doesn't do!

    ,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  14. #64
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Very true Jack , most comments are usually not liking certain things than liking them. Anything is better than lugging a old 8x10 view camera around
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  15. #65
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    That is one reason I like my Horseman. Once and awhile I just have to re-learn the pleasures of cocking the shutter and guessing the focus.
    It is kind of a zen thing and it makes one appreciate the differences in cameras.
    As for shutter lag, a camera that has an almost negative shutter lag is the D3 set to continuous fast.
    If one is in the habit of Leica-like holding and squeezing the shutter almost like the freestyle target shooting I did in my youth, with the D3 you find that you took a burst of five shots.
    So if the Horseman is a bolt-action ramp load single shot two stage trigger kind of camera, the Phamyia is clip-fed semi-auto, and the D3 is an Uzi.
    A proper camera cabinet has room for all of these kinds of tools.
    -bob

  16. #66
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Just FYI I was not going nuts . Phase did make a last minute correction and bumped it to 1.4 . No camera's got 1.3. So the upgrades are 1.4 firmware. Just got a note this morning from Phase
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  17. #67
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Bill Caulfeild-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bruce Peninsula, Canada
    Posts
    2,535
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    184

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Mine was upgraded at Vistek in Toronto last week. Took about one hour. It is v 1.3. Shutter lag clearly better, some extra EXIF info, but most of the changes between 1.2 and 1.3 were to do with the ZD back and are not relevant to using the AFDIII with a P1 back.
    Bill

  18. #68
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    I shot a job today and finished at 3:40 and was in the Fed-X system by 4 pm. Should get to Phase in NY by Friday morning. Hopefully tuesday i will have it back in my hands. The shutter lag improvement is what i am most after . They also fixed the sync, manual focus arrows and a couple other goodies.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  19. #69
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Well got word that my body made it to Phase One today, update was done and already shipped out for Monday delivery. Okay you just can't beat that with a stick.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  20. #70
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Well got word that my body made it to Phase One today, update was done and already shipped out for Monday delivery. Okay you just can't beat that with a stick.
    Lovely Guy but compared to plugging it into the capture software and letting it do its thing while you're having an espresso this is still a hassle...
    Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One | Mamiya Leaf
    e: [email protected] | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | yaya's blog

  21. #71
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Totally agree and it should be that way no question. Hopefully next body will be user upgradeable. The good news here was at least done extremely fast. Some saving grace to this issue they have.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  22. #72
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Do you know if the new body will have the same current mount as the AFD/ II/ III or if it'll require a newly designed digital back?
    Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One | Mamiya Leaf
    e: [email protected] | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | yaya's blog

  23. #73
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    I would think that will stay the same. Doubt they would ever change that with all these backs with the Mamiya mount.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  24. #74
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Wow just showed up. Shutter lag is almost non existent. Seems much more responsive. This is making Guy a happy boy today. This alone was worth the update
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  25. #75
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Wow just showed up. Shutter lag is almost non existent. Seems much more responsive. This is making Guy a happy boy today. This alone was worth the update
    Blimey Guy, that was quick!

    Mine has to go to Denmark - my dealer can't do it in London - and I need it for a shoot next week so I'll leave it for a while I think

    Congrats!

    t

  26. #76
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    It was really quick same day turn. Tim you should see if you can get it back in time. Maybe call Phase customer service or repair service
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  27. #77
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    It was really quick same day turn. Tim you should see if you can get it back in time. Maybe call Phase customer service or repair service
    I'm thinking it will give improvements that I can survive without short term so I'll wait - I know Phase has a better record but my Leica turnaround experiences have made me shy of the post office when there's a deadline looming...

  28. #78
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: New Phamiya firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob View Post
    Jack,
    Yup,
    MUP works exactly that way.
    AF dot and exposure lock brackets stay illuminated at mup.
    It still needs two shutter presses, one for mup, second to trigger the self timer.
    Self timer mode and setting survives both a camera on-off cycle as well as a one minute battery removal.
    Shutter latency is a bit better I think.
    Instead of the camera taking a long breath before firing, it now takes a very short breath.
    If they shave just a bit more off the shutter lag it will seem near instantaneous. Part of the issue I have found is the fairly long shutter release movement between full up and shutter release. I think that if they shorten up the physical throw a bit, the shutter latency will seem shorter still.
    -bob

    p.s.
    I actually haven't tested post mup exposure sensitivity through the eyepiece yet, but I suspect that the exposure lock indicator might actually mean that it it really locked.
    I have not tried this yet to early in the morning but if I go into MLP hit the first up release, than hit the self timer say 2 seconds it will wait the 2 seconds than fire. So basically that 2 seconds could settle down the camera than fire it after I hit the shutter the second time and wait the 2 seconds and fire.

    Everything else works as you say and have to say i am really impressed by the shutter lag now. When i was shooting a golf tourney I had to hit the shutter at the top to get the strike , that was a long wait. I don't feel this now, certainly have to get into some action shots and see how it goes but seems to me worlds better. I can't tell you this may have saved me 30k or at least 10k buying a Nikon system. One nit that really bugged me bad. Many times i am NOT shooting typical MF type work and i mean a lot of times.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •